PDA

View Full Version : Trouble transitioning from one vizard


DBurks2818
04-26-2009, 07:19 PM
...file to another.

Hey all,

I'm having a lot of trouble getting one vizard file to transition to another by way of a button. I was able to get it to work once, but now it will no longer work upon creating a new button and giving it the same functionality. I'm also putting all of this within a different scene from the main one, if that helps.

import viz
viz.go()
viz.clearcolor(0,0,1)

Next = viz.addButton()

def onButton(obj,state):
if obj == Prev:
if state == viz.DOWN:
vizact.onbuttondown(Next, execfile('Vizard1.py'))
else:
Prev.remove()
MainMenu.remove()
Nxt.remove()
Tutorial.remove()
Previous.remove()
MainBtn.remove()
Next.remove()
viz.callback(viz.BUTTON_EVENT,onButton)

And 'Vizard1.py'...

import viz

viz.go()
viz.clearcolor(0,0,1)

building = viz.add('level1.3ds')
building.setPosition( 0, 0, 10)
building.setScale( 7.5, 7.5, 7.5 )

Why won't this work with the button I've created? Is there another/more efficient way to do this without just putting all of the code in one file and putting the entire destination file into the source file and using scenes?

It would be nice if someone could help me figure this out by Friday, as it's urgent.

Thanks for any help provided.

DBurks2818
04-26-2009, 07:50 PM
Here's my code if it helps (Main file is "GUINewTitle"):

http://rapidshare.de/files/46918311/Linking.rar.html

The button is on the new game screen, "Next."

DBurks2818
04-26-2009, 08:28 PM
Ok, it seems that the problem is that Vizard isn't able to handle the amount of buttons/data in my main file while still being able to load the .3ds file. Is there anyway around this?

Thanks!

Jeff
04-28-2009, 02:46 PM
Why are you trying to open up different Vizard windows? Can't you do this with one Vizard window and multiple scenes?