PDA

View Full Version : multiple shadows using projector


theuberk
01-29-2008, 06:14 AM
I'm trying to create multiple shadows using the projector module. It seems however that only one projected can exist at one time. For example, the following code only produces one shadow (proj2):


enviro = viz.add('C:\\Program Files\\WorldViz\\Vizard30\\resources\\tut_ground.w rl')
image1 = viz.add('cars\\carShadow.png')
image2 = viz.add('cars\\carShadow2.png')
proj1 = projector.add(image1)
proj1.translate(0,0,0)
proj1.rotate(0,90,0)
proj1.affect(enviro)
proj1.ortho(2,2)
proj2 = projector.add(image2)
proj2.translate(6,0,0)
proj2.rotate(0,90,0)
proj2.affect(enviro)
proj2.ortho(2,2)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

farshizzo
01-29-2008, 07:36 PM
You need to apply the second projection texture to a different texture unit. Try the following code:import viz
import projector

viz.go()

enviro = viz.add('tut_ground.wrl')
image1 = viz.add('eyeshadow.jpg')
image2 = viz.add('eyeshadow.jpg')

proj1 = projector.add(image1)
proj1.translate(1,0,10)
proj1.rotate(0,90,0)
proj1.affect(enviro) #Apply projection texture to default texture unit 1
proj1.ortho(2,2)

proj2 = projector.add(image2)
proj2.translate(-1,0,10)
proj2.rotate(0,90,0)
proj2.affect(enviro,2) #Apply projection texture to texture unit 2
proj2.ortho(2,2)

theuberk
01-30-2008, 08:02 AM
Perfect thanks! I didn't see anything about texture units in the documentation.

theuberk
01-30-2008, 08:13 AM
I tried that out but it only seems to work for up to 3 shadows. I need it to work for up to 20 or so. Is this possible?

farshizzo
01-30-2008, 09:28 AM
The limit depends on your graphics cards. Some graphics cards support only 4 texture units. Some newer cards can support up to 16.

theuberk
01-31-2008, 08:24 AM
I checked the specs on the graphics cards I'm using (2 x 8800GTS - 512MB in SLI), and numerous sources say that there are 64 texture mapping units on these cards. After reading THIS FORUM THREAD (http://forums.nvidia.com/lofiversion/index.php?t29597.html), I'm suspecting it may be an OpenGL problem, however I'm not sure at all. Any ideas what the problem might be?

farshizzo
02-01-2008, 10:29 AM
I believe OpenGL has a limit of 4 texture units when using the fixed function pipeline, which is what the projector plugin uses. To use more texture units you would have to use shaders for projecting the texture onto a model. There is a description about it on nVidias website (http://developer.nvidia.com/object/General_FAQ.html#t6).

theuberk
02-05-2008, 01:44 PM
Is there a better way than the projector plugin to implement shadows in vizard?

farshizzo
02-06-2008, 07:19 PM
Click here (http://www.worldviz.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1208) for a post that contains an example of dynamic projected shadows. It works reasonably well as long as the shadow casting objects are contained in a small area.

omidbrb
01-30-2009, 07:08 AM
I believe OpenGL has a limit of 4 texture units when using the fixed function pipeline, which is what the projector plugin uses. To use more texture units you would have to use shaders for projecting the texture onto a model.

I used the example provided in this thread (http://www.worldviz.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1208), but with multiple avatars. Still only 3 avatars have shadows. Is there any demo that is not relying on the projector plugin?

Thanks,
Omid

Jeff
02-05-2009, 01:41 PM
When you used the shadow module were all your avatars contained within the area defined by your SHADOW_AREA value. You can increase that value but then the resolution of the shadows will not be as sharp. You can then also increase the resolution of the shadows but that will use up more texture memory.

omidbrb
02-06-2009, 02:08 AM
But one should make a seperate Shadow.ShadowProjector objects for each avatar. Hence, as I get, SHADOW_AREA is not the area that all the shadows should be contained in, rather it represents a box that each shadow should fit in. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I suspect that because ShadowProjector is using the projector module in wizard and the projector module is limited by OpenGL's limit of 4 textures on a surface, only 3 avatar shadow textures + the surface's own texture is being applied.

Do you know of any alternatives?

Best,
Omid

Jeff
02-06-2009, 09:41 AM
Here's a few more avatars added to the shadow example. SHADOW_AREA is set to 10,10 and SHADOW_RES is set to 512 to maintain sharp shadows. Are you able to get 5 shadows here?

import viz
viz.go()

#Add ground model
ground = viz.add('tut_ground.wrl')

#Add avatars
avatar = viz.add('vcc_female.cfg',pos=(-4,0,12),euler=(180,0,0))
avatar2 = viz.add('duck.cfg',pos=(-2,0,12),euler=(180,0,0))
avatar3 = viz.add('vcc_male.cfg',pos=(0,0,12),euler=(180,0,0 ))
avatar4 = viz.add('male.cfg',pos=(2,0,12),euler=(180,0,0))
avatar5 = viz.add('female.cfg',pos=(4,0,12),euler=(180,0,0))

avatar.state(5)
avatar2.state(1)
avatar3.state(7)
avatar4.state(9)
avatar5.state(5)


#Shadow resolution (power of two)
#Higher values mean sharper shadows, but take more texture memory
SHADOW_RES = 512

#Postion of shadow projector
SHADOW_POS = [0,10,12]

#Controls size of orthographic shadow projector
#Large values mean larger area is covered, but resolution will be diluted
SHADOW_AREA = [10,10]

#Create shadow projector
import Shadow
shadow = Shadow.ShadowProjector(size=SHADOW_RES,pos=SHADOW_ POS,area=SHADOW_AREA)

#Add avatar as a shadow caster
shadow.addCaster(avatar)
shadow.addCaster(avatar2)
shadow.addCaster(avatar3)
shadow.addCaster(avatar4)
shadow.addCaster(avatar5)

#Add ground as shadow receiver
shadow.addReceiver(ground)

omidbrb
02-24-2009, 02:56 AM
Yes it worked. Thanks. My misunderstanding was that I thought SHADOW_POS and SHADOW_AREA refers to the shadow itslef.