WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2010, 01:26 AM
Ellen Ellen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Spin around one point

Hey there,

Ive a problem spinning the ear of a rabbit.
My animation should be similar to this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m10h7nXSZ_g

But because Im not familiar with programming, the ears leave the body of the rabit when they spin I tried to find some solution like "spinning an object around a specific point" but I didnt find one.

My unsatisfying solution until know looks like this:

Quote:

turnAround = vizact.spin(1,0,0,200,30)

Ear1.addAction(turnAround)
Ear2.addAction(turnAround)
p.s.: Body and ears were all single objects which I positioned in a room

Can someone please help me?

THANKs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2010, 02:20 AM
Ellen Ellen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellen View Post
Hey there,

Ive a problem spinning the ear of a rabbit.
My animation should be similar to this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m10h7nXSZ_g

But because Im not familiar with programming, the ears leave the body of the rabit when they spin I tried to find some solution like "spinning an object around a specific point" but I didnt find one.

My unsatisfying solution until know looks like this:



p.s.: Body and ears were all single objects which I positioned in a room

Can someone please help me?

THANKs
Just to let you know, I also tried it with a path:

Quote:
path = viz.add(viz.ANIMATION_PATH)
positions = [ [0,0,0], [0.2,0,0], [0.4,0,0], [0.6,0,0]]

for x in range(0,len(positions)):
Ear1.setPosition(positions[x])
cp = viz.add(viz.CONTROL_POINT)
cp.setPosition(positions[x])
path.add(cp,x+1)

path.loop(viz.LOOP)
path.setAutoRotate(viz.ON)

Ear1.link(path)
path.play()
but this is also not what I expected
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:36 AM
tobin tobin is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 251
The issue relates to your sub-object's center point not being where you expect. If you use 3DS Max to create your geomoetry, you'll find this KB article very helpful:

http://kb.worldviz.com/articles/1157
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:14 PM
Ellen Ellen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Im not using Max until know, because Im not the creator of the 3D Model. But Ill try. The links seems very helpful. Thank you very much. I let you know if it was successful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making avatar point with hand towards dan12345 Vizard 7 08-17-2017 06:12 AM
Problems with spawn point. just alex Vizard 1 11-24-2008 09:51 AM
Incoming floating point values Rachel Vizard 1 02-12-2008 03:09 PM
data glove navigation arielasso Vizard 6 10-24-2007 02:15 PM
looking at a point vadrian Vizard 5 06-07-2005 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC