WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2012, 12:17 PM
shivanangel shivanangel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 182
Sorry, forgot to include that class as well.
Here is a super class of GreenObject called Model3D which derives
from viz.VizNode

Code:
class Model3D(viz.VizNode):
	
	GORM = None
	
	def __init__(self, string):
		
		#Typical string entry
		if type(string) == str:
			base = viz.add(string)
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, base.id)
				
		#Use for on-the-fly creation in Vizard
		elif isinstance(string, viz.VizNode):
			base = string
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, base.id)
				
		elif isinstance(string, int): #We are dealing with a copy that has passed in an id number
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, string)
			
		
		else:
			print 'Copy type', string, type(string)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2012, 02:12 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
The node.copy command will pass all extra keyword arguments to the class __init__ method. You can override the copy method in your class and have it pass all the required arguments as keyword arguments to the underlying node.copy method. Example:
Code:
import viz
viz.go()

class MyNode(viz.VizNode):

	def __init__(self, model, parameter):

		if isinstance(model,basestring):
			base = viz.add(model)
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, base.id)

		elif isinstance(model, viz.VizNode):
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, model.id)

		elif isinstance(model, int):
			viz.VizNode.__init__(self, model)

		self._parameter = parameter

	def copy(self, parameter):
		return viz.VizNode.copy(self,parameter=parameter)

node = MyNode('gallery.osgb',0)
nodeCopy = node.copy(1)
Does this work for you scenario?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2012, 06:56 AM
shivanangel shivanangel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 182
I believe it will work.
I'll create a new instance of the class in the copy constructor and pass the copy into the initializer.

This way the copy command will now not just copy viz.VizNode but I can code it to also copy the rest of the parameters I've attached to my new class as well.

Thank you,
George
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inheritance, viznode


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC