PDA

View Full Version : Client Server Networking Problem


mihirradia
02-26-2017, 03:34 PM
Hi,
I'm using the example of Client and Server networking script for my problem. When I run the Server script it runs with no errors. But when I run the Client scripts I get the following error. Could you tell me what is this error? And how can I solve it?

I would be grateful, if you could help me out as soon as possible.

Thanks,
Mihir

Jeff
02-27-2017, 06:54 AM
Vizard serializes the arguments to a string and sends that to the remote computer. To serialize the data, Vizard uses the cPickle library that comes with Python. Perhaps you are trying to send an object that cPickle does not recognize.

It's difficult to tell without having a simple example that reproduces the error. For help with code on the forum it's always best to follow the posting Vizard code (http://forum.worldviz.com/faq.php?faq=vb3_reading_posting#faq_faq_vizard_cod e) guidelines.

mihirradia
02-27-2017, 10:12 AM
Hi Jeff,
Its really difficult for me to produce an example that replicates my error. I have attached my code with as short as possible. As I am using the vizconnect tool. I have also attached the vizconnect_desktop.py

my code is
import csv
import viz
import vizfx
import vizconnect
import vizact
import makingCSVFile
import zspace
import vizshape
import vizcam
import vizinfo
import viznet
import vizinput
from tools import collision_test

filePath = vizinput.fileOpen(filter=[('DAE Files','*.dae'),('OSG Files','*.ive;*.osgb;*.osg'),('VRML Files','*.wrl'),('All File','*.*')],directory='3DModels')
logoss1=None
Listchilderen=[]
GrabedObject=None
ModelsList=[]
ModelsList.append(logoss1)
DissasembeldPart=False
models=None
grabItems=None
class ExplosiveModel(viz.VizNode):
""" creates a model with a given dae file and gets parts and moves them on specified axes """

def __init__(self, rowData):

self.isu = vizfx.addChild(filePath)
logoss1 = self.isu
Listchilderen = logoss1.getNodeNames()
viz.VizNode.__init__(self, self.isu.id)
self.scale = .035125 #this scale is determined by doc (dividing model size by .035, we get desired size)
self.isu.setScale([self.scale]*30)
self.current = 0 #index of current
self.rowData = rowData[:]
self.layerParents = []
self.partDict = {}
for tool in vizconnect.getToolsWithMode('Grabber'):
tool.getRaw().setCollisionTester(collision_test.Di stance(node=tool.getRaw(), distanceThreshold=1000))

def initZSpace():
import zspace

viz.setMultiSample(8)
viz.clearcolor(viz.SLATE)

#initialize zSpace display
display = zspace.init()

#Scale up the zSpace display to avoid having to
#scale down all the models to fit within the display viewport
display.setScale(200)

#save handle to wand tracker
wandTracker = zspace.getWandTracker()
wandTracker.setLedEnabled(True)


SEND_UPDATE_TIMER = 1

UPDATE = viznet.id('update')
CLIENT_DISCONNECTED = viznet.id('client_disconnected')
CHAT = viznet.id('chat')

SERVER_NAME=viz.input('Enter Server Name')
while not viznet.client.connect(SERVER_NAME,port_in=14951,po rt_out=14950):
if viz.ask('Could not connect to ' + SERVER_NAME + ' would you like to try another?'):
SERVER_NAME=viz.input('Enter Server Name')
else:
viz.quit()
break


#_________________________________________________ __________________________________
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def update(e):
# need to edit this
global grabbedObject
global grabItems,models, filePath
global ModelsList,logoss1,DissasembeldPart,Listchilderen, xmodel
if e.client != viz.getComputerName():
try:


if e.DisAssPart==True and DissasembeldPart==False:



for i in Listchilderen:
if i.startswith("Inst"):
xmodel=logoss1.getChild(i)

ModelsList.append(xmodel)

models = viz.cycle(ModelsList)
grabItems = set(models)
DissasembeldPart=True
e.GrabObj.setPosition(e.pos)
e.GrabObj.setEuler(e.ori)

elif e.DisAssPart==False and DissasembeldPart==True:

for i1 in ModelsList:
i1.remove()
logoss1.remove()
logoss1 = viz.add(filePath)
logoss1.setPosition([0,0,0])
logoss1.setScale([0.1,0.1,0.1])
models = viz.cycle([logoss1])
grabItems = set(models)
DissasembeldPart=False
e.GrabObj.setPosition(e.pos)
e.GrabObj.setEuler(e.ori)



else:

e.GrabObj.setPosition(e.pos)
e.GrabObj.setEuler(e.ori)


except KeyError:
print 'errooooooooor'
#print '-------------update client'
viz.callback(UPDATE,update)
#_________________________________________________ __________________________________
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def client_disconnected(e):
viz.callback(CLIENT_DISCONNECTED,client_disconnect ed)
#_________________________________________________ __________________________________
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def sendUpdate():
global GrabedObject, DissasembeldPart
if GrabedObject!=None:
ori= GrabedObject.getEuler()
pos = GrabedObject.getPosition()
GrabObj=GrabedObject
DisAssPart=DissasembeldPart

viznet.client.sendAll(UPDATE,client=viz.getCompute rName(),pos=pos,ori=ori,GrabObj=GrabObj,DisAssPart =DisAssPart )

vizact.ontimer(.001,sendUpdate)
#_________________________________________________ __________________________________
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def onStopServer(e):

viz.quit()
viz.callback(viznet.SERVER_DISCONNECT_EVENT,onStop Server)

#_________________________________________________ __________________________________
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#alternatively, you could use the desktop
vizconnect.go('vizconnect_desktop.py') #desktop vizconnect setup

rowData = []
#read csv data for part numbers per step
with open('names.csv', 'rb') as csvfile:
reader = csv.reader(csvfile)
for row in reader:
rowData.append([row[0], row[1], row[2].split()])
print rowData

#Set the animation speed and mode
SPEED = 1200
MODE = viz.SPEED
ROTATE_MODE = viz.PIVOT_ROTATE

def AnimateView(pos):
global GrabedObject
action = vizact.goto(pos,SPEED,MODE,pivot=vizconnect.getVie wpointDict(),rotate_mode=ROTATE_MODE)
GrabedObject = vizconnect.getTransport().getRaw()
vizconnect.getTransport().getNode3d().runAction(ac tion)

model = ExplosiveModel(rowData)
model.setScale([0.02]*3)

viz.clearcolor(viz.GRAY) #change background color if desired

#Start off by moving to the first location
AnimateView([0,2,-15])

mihirradia
02-27-2017, 11:34 AM
It's urgent. Please help me out as soon as possible.

Jeff
02-28-2017, 01:09 AM
It looks like the transport object can't be sent using the network command and causes the cPickle error. Try sending the position and orientation of the transport every frame to all clients. On the receiving end, set the position and orientation of the transport:

transport.setPosition(pos)
transport.setEuler(euler)

mihirradia
02-28-2017, 10:32 AM
Hi Jeff,
I'm sorry I'm new to this Vizard. What changes should I make in my update function in my Client? Do you want me to change the e.GrabObject.setPosition(pos) to transport.setPosition(pos) correct on the client script? What changes do I need to make in the server script?
I'm sorry for such silly question, but I new to programming as well. I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused

Jeff
03-01-2017, 01:46 AM
Sorry, it's difficult to help because I don't really understand the code or what you are trying to do. Troubleshooting custom code is beyond the scope of what we can help with on the forum.

I'm not sure this is going to make things work the way you want but to avoid the error remove the transport object, which is called 'GrabObj' in the line below:

viznet.client.sendAll(UPDATE,client=viz.getCompute rName(),pos=pos,ori=ori,GrabObj=GrabObj,DisAssPart =DisAssPart )

It seems like you are already sending the position and orientation of the transport and there is only one transport used in the script. So in your function that receives the network data, get a handle to that transport and then call set position and orientation on it.

Maybe there's an easier way of setting this up. Can you explain generally how your application is supposed to work? We can't necessarily provide code but may have suggestions.

mihirradia
03-01-2017, 05:07 PM
Hi Jeff,
I have a CAD model that is uploaded in the system. After that I am using the orientation and flying transports from the vizconnect tool to rotate the object in the virtual environment. Now, all I wanted is to do networking between two systems. For example, If I rotate the model in upward direction using transports in the client system, the information should get updated in the server system. I'm able to connect the systems the server displays the message of the client joined and left. But the client is not able to update the information and it is showing me the cPickle error.

Jeff
03-02-2017, 05:37 AM
Does the example server/client scripts posted here (http://forum.worldviz.com/showpost.php?p=3949&postcount=11) work for you?

mihirradia
03-06-2017, 01:15 PM
Hi Jeff,
The sample scripts are working. I did what you told me to do to remove the transport object i.e "GrabObj" after doing that I am getting the below error.

Jeff
03-07-2017, 12:23 AM
Since you are no longer sending the GrabObj object, you can't receive it in the update function. You could try getting a handle to the transport in your script using the following:

transport = vizconnect.getTransport().getRaw()

Then set its position and orientation to the values you receive in the update function.

I can't guarantee that this will help or not. As I mentioned before, to get help with code on the forum it needs to follow the guidelines for posting code. For more in depth assistance, you might contact sales@worldviz.com and they can provide options for custom development and priority support.