PDA

View Full Version : Webcam resolution issues


sankethrit2013
04-06-2016, 07:42 AM
Hello Everyone,

I was working on getting webcam feed into vizard.

I am using a Genius F100 wide-angle webcam. It has a max resolution of 1080p. But vizard only seems to read in 640x480. All other software can capture 1080p or 720p from the same camera.

I have used two approaches to it.

video = viz.add('VideoCamera.dle')
cam1 = video.addWebcam(size = (1280,720))
pl.texture(cam1) # its a plane that I have created and adding the camera video as texture

My second approach is:

import VideoVision
ar = viz.add('artoolkit.dle')
cam1 = ar.addWebCamera(size = [1280,720])

Am I doing something wrong or is it that Vizard does not have the drivers to read in more than 640x480 resolution?

Jeff
04-07-2016, 12:33 AM
Vizard uses Windows DirectShow for connecting to camera devices using the RGB24 format. It's possible the DirectShow drivers for the camera only supports the 640x480 resolution in RGB24.

performlabrit
04-13-2016, 06:11 AM
Hi Jeff,

It's clear that it's a driver issue. Unfortunately, Vizard is the only program we can find that seems to have this driver issue.

Can you offer any additional guidance? Workarounds? Has your team has success integrating other webcam modules with the Vizard pipeline?

The only solution I can come up with, to write a threaded module to save images to the harddrive to be used as textures. This would take several days work, if not a week or two.

Thanks,
- gD

Jeff
04-13-2016, 08:43 PM
I'll check with our developers and create a support ticket to follow up on this.

Erikvdb
04-15-2016, 06:03 AM
As a workaround, you could try running the feed through a virtual webcam. I have Manycam and Xsplit installed on my PC and Vizard recognizes them both as webcam devices, and they in turn may be a bit more flexible recognizing the full resolution of your source webcam.
You may need to look around a bit to find a good free virtual cam software without watermark though.

JasmineJasmine
04-26-2016, 02:13 PM
My problem is that for some very odd reason my camera is now extremly zoomed in, as far as i know i've not changed any settings... I have however now tried multiple things to fix it, and the closest i get is when i press ctrl+f, but then my picture is extremly pixly (as if i had the lowest possible resolution, my hand basicly becomes super-mario looking ^^. (I have resolution set at 1280 x 720) (((((((((