PDA

View Full Version : Using VRPN and INtersense to Connect Computer A with Computer B


vlc
06-01-2015, 09:56 AM
Hello,

I have an IS-900 connected to Computer A and running Vizard. Computer B is not connected to IS-900 but does run Vizard. Is there a way (maybe through VRPN) that allows computer B to connect to the IS-900 which is connected to computer A?

Jeff
06-02-2015, 10:53 AM
Can you describe the setup and what you're trying to accomplish? You could send data from one Vizard app to another using a VRPN server (http://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=4344) or network commands but there will be added latency.

vlc
06-02-2015, 11:00 AM
Hi Jeff,

Computer A has the IS900, however I want Computer B to be able to connect to the tracker on the IS900 using VRPN. I know that you mentioned in other posts how to create the stream, but my question is: how do you actually obtain the data from the stream. If Computer A has the VRPN stream running, how would I get that data from the stream using computer B. Does that make sense?

Jeff
06-02-2015, 02:49 PM
Here's an example using a keyboard tracker.

Server Code:


'''
Press the wasd keys to move the tracker
'''

import viz
import vizcam
import vizinfo
import vizact
viz.go()

vizinfo.InfoPanel()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
server = vrpn.addTrackerServer('VizardTracker')
tracker = vizcam.addKeyboardPos()
server.setTracker(tracker)

def printData():
print tracker.getPosition()

vizact.onupdate(0,printData)

Client Code:

'''
Press the wasd keys in the server window to
move the axes model here in the client
'''

import viz
import vizshape
import vizinfo

viz.go()

vizinfo.InfoPanel()

viz.move([0,0,-6])
viz.addChild('sky_day.osgb')
axes = vizshape.addAxes()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
tracker = vrpn.addTracker('VizardTracker@localhost')
viz.link(tracker,axes)

vlc
06-03-2015, 01:44 PM
Thanks a lot, Jeff. Was able to make it work through a wired connection. Do you happen to know if I could try doing this via wireless connection? I tried doing it with the IP Address but that doesn't seem to help. I tried doing @IPADDRESS instead of @hostname.

Jeff
06-05-2015, 03:33 PM
VRPN data can be sent over a wireless connection. The code should be the same for either a wired or wireless setup.