PDA

View Full Version : Using A Projector


starlingstm
01-21-2013, 08:11 AM
Hello. I have a project that involves a projector. The goal is use a web camera for tracking markers' position and orientation, but I want the projector to display the virtual 3D model only. Thus far I have everything working with the web camera, I just need to know if this is possible?

Thanks,
Stephanie

Jeff
01-25-2013, 11:51 AM
If you don't want to render the camera image set the window argument to None:
camera = ar.addWebCamera(window=None)

starlingstm
03-12-2013, 08:03 PM
Hello, Jeff. I tried the camera function but I'm still not receiving my desired output. That line of coding removes gives a black screen. To help you get a better understanding I've attached a word document with the output I want, the screen shots of the output I'm receiving, and my source code. Thanks in advance for all your assistance.

Design: Virtual Assembly Program

Equipment/ Software: Web Camera, Epson Projector, and ARtoolkit markers

Goal: I need the web camera for tracking purposes only. I want the projector to render the virtual 3D
Model without video feedback from the web camera (NOT THE WEB CAMERA).

Output: Iím getting feedback from both the web camera and projector.

Paths: I tried replacing camera = ar.addWebCamera() with camera = ar.addWebCamera(window=None)
and I receive a black screen and feedback.

Jeff
03-13-2013, 02:01 AM
Can you post a simple example script that shows the issue you are having?

starlingstm
03-13-2013, 07:21 PM
Attached sample code and screen shots of my output thus far. Thanks

Jeff
03-14-2013, 06:51 AM
Can you start with a simple example and verify that you get the correct output?
import viz
viz.go()

#Add ARToolkit extension
ar = viz.add('artoolkit.dle')

#Create camera using first available webcam
camera = ar.addWebCamera(window=None)

#Create a matrix marker with the specified id
marker = camera.addMatrixMarker(0,width=1000)

#Add logo model
logo = viz.add('logo.ive')

#Link logo model to marker sensor
viz.link(marker,logo)

starlingstm
04-05-2013, 01:37 PM
Yes, I get the correct output. Now, how do I bring a projector into the connection and use it to only output my "logo" in an augmented environmnet.
Thanks

Jeff
04-05-2013, 04:34 PM
Does your projector work in stereo or mono? If stereo, which kind of stereo input does it require?

If the test application works but your application does not, you'll need to find out where your application is breaking. To do that, start with a simple script, and add code until you see where the problem begins.