PDA

View Full Version : Iinterface between MATLAB and Vizard


suraj
07-12-2012, 11:15 PM
I am new while working with vizard. but i have experience in working with matlab.

In my application i want to interface output generated by matlab with the vizard environment. Precisely, i want to access physiological signal such as heart rate in and process that in matlab to generate an output. e.g. , if the heart beat rate is above 85 bpm i want to generate an output of one(1) then i want to get this digit one(1) in vizard environment which will initiate a sequence of activity in vizard environment.

I have gone through the conversation threads on the vizard forum but they do not answer my question.

Maybe pymat can be used. i will use win32 system with latest version of vizard "lite version". can someone please show me a way or show your experience while using pymat or any other plug-ins.

Thanks,
Suraj

Jeff
07-16-2012, 01:47 AM
If you can send data from matlab over the network than you can get this data using Vizard's networking (http://docs.worldviz.com/vizard/Networking_Basics.htm) commands.

suraj
07-16-2012, 12:25 PM
This is really a good advice. Thank you for the reply.

1.What if i want to use same system(laptop) for matlab and vizard.

2.And If i use "C" drive for matlab and "D" drive for vizard will this help for speed performance of the system?

Thank you in advance!

Jeff
07-17-2012, 02:54 AM
1. That should be fine. You can send/receive data to another application on the same machine. When you create the network connection specify 'localhost'.

2. I don't think so.

suraj
07-17-2012, 03:43 AM
Thanks!
One more thing,I found that "Pymat" can be used to interface between matlab and Python and because vizard is based Python so is this fine?

I have installed python3.2.3 and Numpy3.2 and i havd matlab 2009ra installed as this site "http://pymat.sourceforge.net/" says but could not install Pymat (could not follow the step 5 and 6 of "How do I build it?"). i also tried to download Pymat from site"http://claymore.engineer.gvsu.edu/~steriana/Python/" but got it's 2.2 version which is not supported in Python3.2 ver.I downloaded Pymat form other site in which it has "setup.py" i don't know how to get it worked.
I want to know how to install Pymat for the "Python win32 version 3.2.3". I tried the given example from"http://claymore.engineer.gvsu.edu/~steriana/Python/pymat.html" but did not worked.

Sorry for the long reply.

Thanks,
Suraj

Jeff
07-17-2012, 05:07 AM
Vizard 4 uses Python 2.7 so it won't work with PyMat.

suraj
07-17-2012, 08:03 AM
will the Python 2.2 work? Because i have Pymat 2.2 so i can install Python 2.2.

suraj
07-17-2012, 09:02 AM
Can i use Python 2.2 with vizard? If so to use Pymat i need Python2.2, Numpy 2.2 and Pymat 2.2, means all of same version. I have Python 2.2 and Pymat 2.2 but i did not get Numpy for Python 2.2 to use.Pymat 2.2 is the latest one which i got. can you help me to use Pymat with any version of matlab?