PDA

View Full Version : Debug Viz in PyCharm (or Eclipse)


hotshotiguana
04-13-2012, 10:24 AM
I have set up an external tool in PyCharm to execute Vizard code, with the below configurations:
Program --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\winviz.exe
Parameters --> $FilePath$
Working Directory --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin

But now I am trying to set up an external tool to debug Vizard code, the below configuration is what I tried based on the command PyCharm uses to debug code:
Program --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\winviz.exe
Parameters --> "C:\Program Files (x86)\JetBrains\PyCharm 2.0\helpers\pydev\pydevd.py" --client 127.0.0.1 --port 50336 --file $FilePath$
Working Directory --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin

I am not sure if this is even on the right path, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Or if someone has set this up in Eclipse, I could try and mimic that configuration.

Thanks,

farshizzo
04-16-2012, 09:50 AM
Sorry, I'm not familiar with PyCharm, but is it outputting any error messages when you attempt to debug a Vizard script?

hotshotiguana
04-17-2012, 05:51 AM
pydev debugger: starting
Could not connect to 127.0.0.1: 49849
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "pydevd_comm.py", line 390, in StartClient
s.connect((host, port))
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\lib\socket.py", line 224, in meth
return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 10061] No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it

Vaquero
02-21-2017, 01:40 PM
I'd like to warm up this 5 year old topic. I recently fell in love with PyCharm and I'm happy that I can use it to write vizard scripts and run them from PyCharm as an external tool. but I'm also lost on how to configure it to being able to debug the vizard script.
There's all these interpreter settings, remote debugging (PyCharm Pro only), external tool's, but I just don't know what to do.
So is there any way to do debugging with PyCharm Professional, so I don't have to rely on print statements? If not, this is can be seen as a kind feature request. ;)

Jeff
02-21-2017, 04:07 PM
We have not used PyCharm so I don't have any suggestions for getting the debugger to work there. What about opening up the script in the Vizard IDE at times when you need a debugger?