PDA

View Full Version : Publish to exe Script


hotshotiguana
03-23-2012, 08:01 AM
I am trying to create new versions of my software on the fly - currently the software is only available on the desktop. For example, I want to have the capability for a user to select certain parameters on our website and then have a new version created for them with those specified parameters. Is it possible to run the "File-->Publish as EXE" command from a script to create a new executable of our software? If not, does anyone have any suggestions on how to go about this?

Thanks,
Chris

farshizzo
03-23-2012, 10:41 AM
Yes, this should be possible. Here are the steps you need to follow:

Go through the standard "Publish to EXE" workflow.
On the "Finished Publishing" dialog at the end, save the publish settings by clicking on the "click here" link. This should save the publish settings file to your script folder.
You can now automatically generate the exe using the settings file through the following command line:
Vizard.exe -publish "<full path to the publish settings file>"
This should create an exe in the same folder as the settings file with the same filename. For example, if your settings file was located at "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.xml", the EXE would be located at "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.exe".

hotshotiguana
03-26-2012, 12:54 PM
Thanks for the response!

Adam.Grey
01-29-2013, 12:00 PM
I attempted to use vizard.exe -publish, and it just launches vizard. Has this feature been removed?

Jeff
01-29-2013, 02:42 PM
Try specifying the path to the vizard.exe in the bin folder:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\vizard.exe" -publish "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.xml"

Adam.Grey
01-31-2013, 01:30 PM
Gave that a shot, no luck. If it finds the file and begins publishing but runs into an error, will it report back in any way? Should I reroute stderr?

Jeff
01-31-2013, 05:08 PM
When you publish the first time from the Vizard GUI is there any problem?

meltaweel
12-22-2015, 10:34 AM
Hello ,
it's an old topic , but i have the same problem as Adam.

i'm using Vizard 5 and i tried to do this as explained above

"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard5\bin\vizard.exe" -publish "C:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\SETTINGS_FILE.xml”


it doesn't show up with any thing and the exe file doesn't be generated beside the XML file as Jeff said.

and yes when i have published first time from Vizard GUI , it published the exe without any problems and was working fine. and i've used the "publish settings" XML file from the "Finished Building" step.


and i have ensured that the bin file path working fine because when i run
"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard5\bin\vizard.exe" this it opens the Vizard IDE successfully !


please help !