WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2006, 10:04 AM
vizmaster vizmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
Only part of tiled image

I am trying to display a 50000 x 6000 image. I have tiled the image into 2048x2048 jpg tiles. With texture compression set to COMPRESSION_ARB they load correctly. With this removed I get blank textures. See attached image.
I have tried PCs with more graphics memory and RAM with the same result.

Here is the tiling code:

Code:
for v in range(0, vTiles):
	for h in range(0, hTiles):
		
		quad = viz.add(viz.TEXQUAD)
		quad.translate(h-hTiles/2.0, -(v-vTiles/2.0), 4.0) 
		
		counter += 1
		fileName = 'crop_' + '%02d' % counter + '.jpg'
		
		texture = viz.add(fileName)
#		texture.compression(viz.COMPRESSION_ARB)
		texture.wrap(viz.WRAP_S,viz.CLAMP_TO_EDGE)
		texture.wrap(viz.WRAP_T,viz.CLAMP_TO_EDGE)

		quad.texture(texture)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	greece.jpg
Views:	1496
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	118  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:11 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
How much memory does your graphics card have? An image of that size will take up at least 858 MB of memory. It is very likely that your card cannot handle that much texture.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:54 AM
vizmaster vizmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
I have tried this on an Nvidia 1400 with 128mb and Nvidia 2500m with 512mb. The image remains the same. The only difference is that the 1400 has poor performance while the 2500m is able to manipulate the image. As a note, I ran it in vizard 2.5 and most of the image is there only the left and right most tiles are missing. Also note, I understand that in 2.5 only the tiles in the viewpoint are loaded. As I zoom out more tiles are loaded into memory. In 3.0 all of the tiles are loaded into memory prior to displaying the image. This was done to improve panning and zooming.
__________________
VizMaster
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:55 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

Is there a reason you don't want the texture to be compressed? Is the quality not sufficient? If so, have you tried a different compression mode, such as viz.COMPRESSION_DXT5 ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2006, 10:11 AM
vizmaster vizmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
It is mainly a quality issue. I did try the other compression formats with little change to image quality. The main artifact of compression that I see is color banding in the sky portion of an image.
__________________
VizMaster
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2006, 12:11 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

We were able to replicate your issue here. I made a few small changes and now I can load all the tiles uncompressed. We will contact you shortly about getting you an update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC