WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2004, 01:29 PM
JRichizzle JRichizzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 43
Graphics accelerator problem

Hi,

My graphics card is pooping out on me during motion simulations. I am updating HEAD_POS with a continuous timer to simulate smooth (passive) linear translation of the eyepoint through an environment. I use hotspots to update the position of 3 different segments of the environment in a "leap frog" manner.

The program freezes at variable times during this process and the following message appears:
"VPU Recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands. Please tell ATI Technologies about this problem."

Any clues as to what is going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2004, 01:50 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

I'm pretty sure this means that your graphics card is crashing. It only happens with ATI cards. There should be an option in your graphics card settings to turn VPU recover off. Right click on the desktop and click Properties, then select the Settings tab, then click Advanced, then select the VPU Recover tab and disable VPU recover. I'm not sure if this will help, but it's worth a try. Let me know if you still experience this problem. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2004, 02:03 PM
JRichizzle JRichizzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 43
graphics accelerator

Turning off VPU Recover did not fix the problem... now, instead of giving me the error msg, the program simply freezes with the last frame still visible; computer frozen... before, the screen would go black (fullscreen mode) and then come back with the error message.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2004, 02:56 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

Is it possible your graphics card is overheating? Make sure that the fan on your graphics card is getting power and running fine. Also, make sure that your graphics card is getting enough power. Some graphics cards require an additional connection to the power supply. Does this problem only occur with this script or other scripts as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:48 AM
Snowraven2009 Snowraven2009 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
This helped solve my problem with VPU Recovery

http://forums.amd.com/game/messagevi...VIEWTMP=Linear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC