WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2009, 09:40 AM
durf durf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
reseting an object

Hello,

I am trying to reset an object. Right now when my sensor passes over and object and then sets the position to to -10 on the y axis. What I want to do is when my sensor leaves that object how do I reset that particular object to 0 on the y - axis.

I have my objects arranged in an array which lays the objects out on the x and z -axis flat on the y -axis. The array is 4 x 5.


Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2009, 12:45 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,465
Are you using viz.intersect to see whether or not the sensor is over the block?

You can continue to us viz.intersect to see whether or not the line drawn from below the sensor is still intersecting the block. If it is you don't need to do anything since the block has already been moved down. If it's not intersecting that object anymore the sensor has moved beyond it and you can reset the object's position.

if you're still using the vizintersect code from the other thread you started than you could change it to something like this.

Code:
currentBlock = None
def moveBlock():
	
	global currentBlock
	
	x,y,z = ball.getPosition()
	info = viz.intersect([x,y-1,z],[x,y-20,z])
	if info.valid and currentBlock == None:
		currentBlock = info.object
		currentBlock.setPosition([0,-10,0], viz.REL_LOCAL)
	elif not info.valid and currentBlock is not None:
		currentBlock.setPosition([0,10,0], viz.REL_LOCAL)
		currentBlock = None
	
vizact.ontimer(0,moveBlock)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2009, 05:36 PM
durf durf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Still not working... Below is the code I have created for it. Im thinking it has something to do with the array. Just getting confused with it.

Code:
import viz
viz.go()

OriginalPillar = viz.add('pillarWRL.wrl')
OriginalPillar.visible(viz.OFF)

viz.MainView.setPosition([0,10,-35]) #sets camera position
viz.MainView.setEuler([0,2,0]) #sets camera pitch

PORT_PPT = 6

numLights = viz.input('How many lights are you tracking?')
numLights = min(8,numLights)

for x in range(numLights): #creates sensor and call
	
	#Add ground
	ground = viz.add( 'tut_ground.wrl' )
	ground.setPosition([0,-5,0])
	
	#Create sensor
	ppt = viz.add('vizppt.dls')
	
	#Create ball
	ball = viz.add('white_ball.wrl')
	ball.scale(1,1,1)
	ballLink = viz.link(ppt, ball)
	#controls distance in virtual world
	ballLink.postScale([8,1,13],target = viz.LINK_FULL_OP)

	columns = [-20, -10, 0, 10, 20]
	rows = [0, 6, 12, 18]
pillars = []
for x in columns:  #creates an array of pillars
	for y in rows:
		pillar = OriginalPillar.copy()
		pillar.translate(0+x, 0, 0+y)
		pillar.setScale(1,1,1)
		pillar.visible(viz.OFF)
		pillars.append(pillar)

number = 0
def showPillar(): #displays pillars
	global number
	pillars[number].visible(viz.ON)
	number +=1
vizact.ontimer2(.5,len(pillars)-1,showPillar)

currentBlock = None
def moveblock():

	global currentBlock
	
	x,y,z = ball.getPosition()
	info = viz.intersect([x,y-1,z],[x,y-20,z])
	if info.valid and currentBlock == None:
		currentBlock = info.object
		currentBlock.setPosition([0,-10,0], viz.REL_LOCAL)
	elif not info.valid and currentBlock is not None:
		currentBlock.setPosition([0,10,0], viz.REL_LOCAL)
		currentBlock = None
		
vizact.ontimer(0, moveblock)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2009, 11:48 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,465
I think an intersection occurs with the ground and that interferes with code to move the pillars. Try disabling intersection on the ground
Code:
ground.disable(viz.INTERSECTION)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retrieve Object names Geoffrey Vizard 11 12-11-2009 04:26 AM
Can you link the position of a tracker to the orientation of an object? michaelrepucci Vizard 1 09-19-2008 10:23 AM
Child Object Rotation paulgoldberg Vizard 5 09-05-2006 11:33 AM
when collision mode is on, can i "turn it off" for an individual object? Vdoug Vizard 1 09-22-2005 12:14 PM
rotate to object jargon Vizard 1 08-08-2005 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC