WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2013, 12:35 PM
teklab teklab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Oculus Rift Fullscreen

Hi all. We have just started using our Oculus Rift with Vizard code, and I'm trying to understand a full screen rendering issue.

If i run a basic environment script with the Oculus:

################
import oculus
import viz
import vizact

hmd = oculus.Rift()
sensor = hmd.getSensor()
viz.link(hmd.getSensor(), viz.MainView)
#vizact.onkeydown('r',sensor.reset)

viz.go()

floor = viz.add('ground.osgb')

################

and maximize the view window manually (Windows Key + ↑), the frame rate and overall experience during head rotation is very smooth. However, if I use the same script, and instead start the rendering environment with viz.go(viz.FULLSCREEN), the world becomes a great deal more choppy.

Moving to full screen manually isn't a major issue, but is there a way to smooth out the viz.go(viz.FULLSCREEN) option? Maybe my code isn't organized properly, or I'm missing an option.

We are running an i7-2600 with a gtx 580, so I can't imagine it's a hardware limitation for rendering such a simple environment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2013, 12:00 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,458
If you don't connect to the sensor do you still get choppy results with rotations?
Code:
import viz
import oculus
import vizcam

viz.go(viz.FULLSCREEN)
hmd = oculus.Rift()
piazza = viz.add('piazza.osgb')
vizcam.PivotAnimate(pivot=[0,1.8,0])
What is the framerate when you have this rendering issue (press F4 with script running)? Do you have the latest drivers for your graphics card?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2013, 12:36 PM
teklab teklab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Jeff,

I re-ran everything today, and the issue seems to have spontaneously resolved. Locked at 60FPS (with vsync enabled) regardless of how I start it now.

Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2014, 09:15 AM
disbeat disbeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Hi everybody,

I have the same issue...

Do you have any idea on how it was solved?

I go from 60fps to ~20 to 30 fps when on fullscreen...

Best,
Marco
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2014, 09:31 AM
disbeat disbeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
sorry, it's not quite the same error...

I have a decrease of FPS and user experience when I fullscreen the scene, disregarding of how the fullscreen is triggered...

Do you think it is a hardware issue? I have a nVidea Quadro FX 580 and I'm rendering the piazza with an HD avatar.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2014, 06:08 AM
Erikvdb Erikvdb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by disbeat View Post
sorry, it's not quite the same error...

I have a decrease of FPS and user experience when I fullscreen the scene, disregarding of how the fullscreen is triggered...

Do you think it is a hardware issue? I have a nVidea Quadro FX 580 and I'm rendering the piazza with an HD avatar.
What are your update/cull/draw/GPU times? You can check by pressing F4 twice. If your GPU takes more than 16ms to render a frame, framerate will decrease. If that's the case then I'd suspect your graphics card is indeed not fast enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:11 AM
disbeat disbeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Hi,

I think it is indeed an hardware issue.

When I run it on the production computer, I achieve 60FPS. Only in the development computer I got the 30~40FPS.

Thanks all,
Marco
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oculus Rift and 360 Panorama with Vizard Lite Edition mshukun Vizard 4 11-10-2015 12:17 PM
Can I have fullscreen when using wx? Renato Lima Vizard 0 03-02-2011 07:10 PM
Fullscreen HMD Stereo with Vista64 xabbu Vizard 0 06-30-2009 07:24 AM
White Fullscreen crash when running network version Dbuckland Vizard 6 04-19-2006 03:49 PM
Fullscreen mode is kaput FlyingWren Vizard 4 11-06-2003 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC