WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 11:24 AM
hotshotiguana hotshotiguana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Debug Viz in PyCharm (or Eclipse)

I have set up an external tool in PyCharm to execute Vizard code, with the below configurations:
Program --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\winviz.exe
Parameters --> $FilePath$
Working Directory --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin

But now I am trying to set up an external tool to debug Vizard code, the below configuration is what I tried based on the command PyCharm uses to debug code:
Program --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\winviz.exe
Parameters --> "C:\Program Files (x86)\JetBrains\PyCharm 2.0\helpers\pydev\pydevd.py" --client 127.0.0.1 --port 50336 --file $FilePath$
Working Directory --> C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin

I am not sure if this is even on the right path, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Or if someone has set this up in Eclipse, I could try and mimic that configuration.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2012, 10:50 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Sorry, I'm not familiar with PyCharm, but is it outputting any error messages when you attempt to debug a Vizard script?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 06:51 AM
hotshotiguana hotshotiguana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
pydev debugger: starting
Could not connect to 127.0.0.1: 49849
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "pydevd_comm.py", line 390, in StartClient
s.connect((host, port))
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\lib\socket.py", line 224, in meth
return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 10061] No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2017, 02:40 PM
Vaquero Vaquero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 62
I'd like to warm up this 5 year old topic. I recently fell in love with PyCharm and I'm happy that I can use it to write vizard scripts and run them from PyCharm as an external tool. but I'm also lost on how to configure it to being able to debug the vizard script.
There's all these interpreter settings, remote debugging (PyCharm Pro only), external tool's, but I just don't know what to do.
So is there any way to do debugging with PyCharm Professional, so I don't have to rely on print statements? If not, this is can be seen as a kind feature request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2017, 05:07 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,458
We have not used PyCharm so I don't have any suggestions for getting the debugger to work there. What about opening up the script in the Vizard IDE at times when you need a debugger?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
debug, eclipse, pycharm, vizard

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eclipse IDE with Vizard Gladsomebeast Vizard 7 09-02-2014 07:08 AM
Debug error Enlil Vizard 2 02-23-2011 08:13 AM
Cal3D Slow Load in Debug Mode? JeffS Plug-in development 0 06-25-2009 12:27 PM
Cal3D Slow Load in Debug Mode? JeffS Vizard 0 06-25-2009 12:26 PM
Howto debug a custom plugin? reedev Plug-in development 3 04-23-2009 03:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC