WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2010, 03:42 PM
EnvisMJ EnvisMJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 44
Streaming Motion Capture

We would like to stream live motion capture data from our capture system into vizard to allow us to animate a character that we created (rigged with Max biped).

Is there a way to do this without MotionBuilder? We've had endless problems with MotionBuilder and would rather not use it in this pipeline if we don't have to.

Has anyone actually done this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2010, 03:47 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
What motion capture system are you using? This is technically possible, it's just a very difficult and time consuming task. Without MotionBuilder, you will need to perform all the IK and motion targeting yourself.

If you feel you are up to the task, then have a look in the docs for manually controlling the bones of an avatar.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2010, 03:54 PM
EnvisMJ EnvisMJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 44
We're using a 6 camera STT Motion Captor system with SD cameras.

I would be really surprised if you've heard of it... it's kind of ...obscure...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2010, 08:05 AM
VelvetElvis VelvetElvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
You can actually skip motion builder all together. You can load the .bvh file or other motion capture format directly onto the biped in Max.

You can load all of your animations in one sequence or sequence them out and control which ones are loaded in what order in the cfg file in Vizard.

Granted, it would be much easier if Vizard supported animated bipeds directly (ie reading the .bip file and translating that onto the bones as it does in Max) or could read the point cache files (either in xml or pc2 format) created in Max, but that would be too simple.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2010, 10:50 AM
EnvisMJ EnvisMJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 44
Unfortunately, our MoCap format isn't directly 3DS Max compatible. Also, doesn't sound like a streaming operation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motion Capture & CyberGloves EnvisMJ Vizard 1 10-01-2009 04:21 PM
screen capture from all cluster computers? dtidrow Vizard 1 09-16-2009 10:25 AM
Motion Capture Props staircaseduets Vizard 1 07-09-2009 12:56 PM
Eliminate Sideways Motion when colliding w/Objects Feuereissen Vizard 3 07-09-2009 12:43 PM
Vizard Enterprise Edition and motion capture aaThomas Vizard 4 10-05-2007 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC