WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2003, 03:49 PM
Arne Arne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
attach prop to avatar?

Hey Folks, In developing avatar animations with props in 3ds Max, is there a way to export an object linked to a biped bone structure into Vizard, or is there a way to attach an object to an avatar bone, like an ice cream cone to a hand bone, or a rubber chicken to a skull? Thanks Arne
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2003, 05:54 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
mmmmm..... ice cream

This sample code will link an object to an avatar bone:
Code:
avatar = viz.add('female.cfg')
link = viz.add(viz.GROUP)
cone = link.add('IceCream.wrl')
avatar.linkbone(link,'Right Hand')
If you need to orientate the object after it is linked, you have to perform the tranformation on the cone object. Also in the example above I linked the ice cream cone to the bone named Right Hand, so make sure you change this to whatever you named the bone in Character Studio.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2003, 08:20 AM
Arne Arne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
attach head

Hey the Ice cream cone trick worked! I have characters running around with ice cream like there's no tomorrow, But they got no heads.
Is there a "attach-a-head" thing going on too? IE is there a way to attach a head so the neck flexes in a non-stone like manner?
Thanks Arne
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2003, 11:48 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Are you talking about heads created in Character Studio or 3DMeNow? Being able to swap Character Studio heads wouldn't be too difficult, but swapping 3DMeNow heads is a whole different story.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2003, 02:58 PM
Arne Arne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
attaching Max Heads

The heads are coming out of 3ds Max.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2003, 03:17 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Well, you could export the head as a separate mesh (cmf) file and then create a separate cfg file using the new mesh as the head. If you need to swap the heads dynamically at run-time then I could look into adding a command to do this. Have you tried the first option yet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2003, 09:52 AM
Arne Arne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
animation?

How would this effect animations? Would I have to export seperate animation for the body and the head and then activate them in Vizard at the same time or what? I'll experiment.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:05 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
I've never tried this but it seems like you should be able to create multiple heads for the same body and and export them as separte mesh files with separate material files. The only limitation I see is that the mesh files might have to have the same structure (ie same number of polygons and polygon order). I'm not sure how this will affect animations, but if the mesh files have the same structure then I don't see any reason why the old animations wouldn't work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC