WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:15 PM
dcnieho dcnieho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 59
glViewport-like operation on mainwindow/mainview

Dear all,

We have a graphics card that does not support spanning over two screens, but supports spanning over three monitors. So simple setup of our HMD is a bit of an issue.

I think we have the following choices to solve this issue:
(1) monoscopic rendering,
(2) side-by-side mode of the zSight HMD leading to half the horizontal resolution,
(3) borrowing a dual head 2go box with the disadvantage that wireless use of the HMD (a sensics zSight) is not possible or
(4) span over three screens and adjust the viewport so that it is rendering only on the two HMD screens.

In my opinion the last solution is the best one for now.

I have searched the Vizard API, but don't see anything that allows me to set the viewport akin a glViewport call, how do I do this?

Thank you!
Dee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2013, 09:29 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
You can use the viz.MainWindow.setSize() command to adjust the size of the main viewport. For example, the following code will set the viewport to span half the width of the output window:
Code:
viz.MainWindow.setSize([0.5,1.0])
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:53 PM
dcnieho dcnieho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 59
Thank you, that works. However, I wanted to specify the viewport in pixels directly, and I found an error in the manual.

The callsyntax of the setSize function is either setSize([width,height]), or setSize(width,height,flag), not setSize([width,height],flag).

Took me a while to figure that out, didn't expect the doc to be wrong. All works now.

Best,
Dee
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2013, 05:55 AM
performlabrit performlabrit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 77
Same issue

This is likely a very common issue. I'm taking the approach of using a triple head to go box. It's not ideal, for the reason that I am trying to get system latency as low as possible, and I'm not sure how it may contribute.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC