WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2019, 04:35 AM
josephredfern josephredfern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Sending models over network

Hi,

I have an experiment that I am running with a HMD and Backpack PC. I'd like to be able to control and monitor certain aspects of this experiment from a separate machine.

I'm able to synchronise viewpoints and send messages between the Backpack PC and the controller PC, but I am stuck at how to copy objects (specifically, shapes) from the Backpack PC scene to the controller scene (or vis-versa). The object does not represent the full properties of the shape (for instance, getPosition() and getBoundingBox() are all 0's), and I cannot make the object appear in the scene on the controller machine.

I could manually extract the properties of the shape from the Backpack PC vizard instance, send them over and re-create them, but it would be far more convenient to be able to send them over the network.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2019, 07:19 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,458
If you're adding objects at run time on one machine and want to copy those objects to another networked machine, you will need to pass data that describes the object (shape type, position, orientation etc.) and recreate it there. I don't think you'll be able to send the node3D object directly. If you have an Enterprise license and are running on a local network, you could use collaboration instead.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2019, 05:54 AM
josephredfern josephredfern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
If you're adding objects at run time on one machine and want to copy those objects to another networked machine, you will need to pass data that describes the object (shape type, position, orientation etc.) and recreate it there. I don't think you'll be able to send the node3D object directly. If you have an Enterprise license and are running on a local network, you could use collaboration instead.
Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your answer. It would be really handy if there was a way of sending over node3D objects; but I've resorted to the shape/position/orientation description approach instead which is working well (and probably saves some bandwidth!).

Thanks,
Joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regarding creation of a 3D Models Menu rajnishv Vizard 4 03-11-2016 05:05 AM
3d models in vizard 5 pralka Vizard 3 06-22-2015 04:52 PM
Light Baking in 3DS Max causing models to render with seams and transparent faces dproeder Vizard 1 09-17-2013 07:45 PM
Higher Quality Models apanza Vizard 1 01-23-2012 12:21 PM
executable - removing models Dave Vizard 2 05-13-2008 03:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC