WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2006, 10:18 AM
vAlexia vAlexia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Stanford, CA
Posts: 10
importing cal3d files into vizard

I'm exporting 3ds max avatars from complete-characters.com into vizard, and everything works but the material file. (i.e. skeleton, mesh and animations import fine.) When I export in 3ds, it asks me for the texture map and I give it the location. I also have the texture map in the same folder as the other avatar files. But my avatar still turns out silvery grey. Is there something else I'm supposed to do?

Last edited by vAlexia; 09-18-2006 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2006, 02:45 PM
Gladsomebeast Gladsomebeast is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Isla Vizta, CA
Posts: 397
Are the texture files in the same directory as the avatar's .cfg file that you load in Vizard?
__________________
Paul Elliott
WorldViz LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2006, 12:56 PM
vAlexia vAlexia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Stanford, CA
Posts: 10
yes, they are in the same directory.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:25 PM
vAlexia vAlexia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Stanford, CA
Posts: 10
I downloaded the cal3d miniviewer and viewed the exported files. Looks like the material isn't showing up there either. I spoke with Michael at vizard the other day about this and he was saying he wasn't having much luck exporting the complete-characters.com avatars either. Is there any way to get those characters to work in vizard?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2006, 08:09 AM
k_iwan k_iwan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 115
Hi,

I'm not a 3ds max user but I had similar problem with blender. Texture applied but still appeared silvery-shiny. I think it was exporter problem and material/texture naming problem inside blender.

I fixed the by giving correct material/texture name in blender and upgraded my exporter. Perhaps, you can check your material naming/directory of your object under material window? and see if it points to the correct material directory?

Regards,
Iwan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC