WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2011, 12:52 PM
hengshan.li hengshan.li is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
How to convert VRay material into Vizard?

Hi guys,

We need a photoreal interior model in our experiment. We used VRay to render the model. I learned the video of the knowledge base about how to bake materials in 3D Max. However, if we use vray material and vray light, the process of baking is quite different. I found some tutorials and used VRayCompleteMap instead of CompleteMap and then converted baked objects into IVE.

However, when I loaded the model in Vizard, I met two problems. First, the model is always stay in specific position of the screen like the button in Vizard. When I made a very simple box in 3D Max and then converted it into vizard, it is OK. I do not know where I set the wrong parameters. Could you give me some advice?

Another problem is that the texture was lost. From the knowledge base, I know that Vizard does not support VRay material. Is there any good method to convert the VRay model and could keep the original effect as much as possible(if we can not get the complete effect)?

Any help is appreicated! Thanks very much!
Hengshan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2011, 05:42 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,453
About the model position, can you post the lines of code you used to add the model to the scene? Have you made sure you got the units correct for export?

http://www.worldviz.com/vizhelp/Distance_units.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:22 AM
hengshan.li hengshan.li is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Hi, Jeff, Thanks very much for your reply.
I export using the the units as it is illustrated. However, the model still can not be navigated. And the code in Vizard is very simple just as below:
import viz
viz.go()
room=viz.add('C:\\Users\\Hengshan\\Desktop\\3d max model\\for vizard\\test1.IVE')

I uploaded the 3ds file:
http://www.adrive.com/public/dca76db...8831b6c92.html
Thanks very much!
Hengshan

Last edited by hengshan.li; 01-10-2011 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:07 PM
Veleno Veleno is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
Hi Hengshan,

Regarding baked textures not showing up in Vizard, make sure the map is being output to the diffuse of a Standard material. For additonal information, refer to this knowledge base article:

http://kb.worldviz.com/articles/1393#more-1393


I also took a look at your file. You have a scale issue. All models in Max are stored in generic units, unrelated to any real-world scale. The "System Unit Scale" setting tells Max how to translate its internal units to real world sizes. This is why changing the system unit does not acutally rescale anything.

Create a box, and type in the values to make it 1 meter high, and you will see the problem.

To fix the scene, use the Rescale World Units utility. It will ask for a scale factor. This depends on what the System Unit Scale was originally set to. The simplest way to get the correct scale factor is to use Google. Searching for "inches to meters" will give the result "1 inches = 0.0254 meters", for example.

Last edited by Veleno; 01-10-2011 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2011, 09:14 AM
hengshan.li hengshan.li is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Hi Michael, Thanks very much for your reply. I have fixed the second problem of units.

As for the first problem, I have read the knowledge base article. However, when I use VRay material and bake them into standard material as self illustration. The effect is not as good as VRay. Does anyone has good idea about the conversion to make the effect as real as possible? Thanks very much!

BTW, I found a video in Youtobe about how to convert 3ds max model into vizard (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhhvOPuIawE), but I am not sure whether those texture materials are based on VRay. And could someone sent me the model please? I want to know how they make the texture. Any help are appreciated!

Cheers,
hengshan

Last edited by hengshan.li; 01-18-2011 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizard and OBJ Material Files shivanangel Vizard 3 10-04-2013 06:11 AM
Realistic Light and Shadows Using Vizard and 3DS Max jde Vizard 4 07-13-2012 10:58 AM
.3DS importing in Vizard and 3D Studio jde Vizard 1 08-28-2009 03:14 PM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Vizard tech tip: Text to Speech Jeff Vizard 1 01-15-2009 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC