WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2011, 09:02 PM
Darkmax Darkmax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 108
vizard 4 with kinect

I saw a video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olUZZt-gnCw and I'm very interested in use vizard with kinect, so my question is what libraries did you use in this application?
and maybe if you could provide some guide to use it with vizard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2011, 10:42 PM
tobin tobin is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 251
Please read our knowledgebase article on using the Kinect with Vizard:

http://kb.worldviz.com/articles/1584

Let us know if you have any further questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2011, 11:45 AM
JimC JimC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 42
Got it working. The FAAST installation instructions were a little unclear; the SensorKinect Module installer didn't install the drivers into the system, it put them in the PrimeSense Program Files directory. When I plugged in the Kinect it complained that the drivers weren't installed and I had to manually direct it to "Program Files\PrimeSense\SensorKinect\Drivers". Three time, once each for the motor, audio, and camera components.

Also, I had to modify the Vizard script in the article, adding:

Code:
viz.MainView.setPosition( 0, 0, -3 )
viz.MainView.lookat( 0, 0, 3 )
...to get anything to show up.

This was on a 32-bit XP system, I couldn't get FAAST to launch on 64-bit Win7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2011, 08:38 PM
hosier hosier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
I was able to get it working on my 64-bit Win7 last weekend. I did have to do one thing different. On the FAAST site it says to download the latest unstable version of the OpenNI and NITE applications. I did that, and it looked like it was working, but it would never send any data. I backed off to the latest stable releases and everything started working.

I ran into the same problem as JimC on XP where I had to manually add the drivers, but everything worked automatically on Win7 for me.

Aaron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realistic Light and Shadows Using Vizard and 3DS Max jde Vizard 4 07-13-2012 10:58 AM
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Announcements 0 02-01-2011 10:46 AM
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Vizard 0 02-01-2011 10:46 AM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Vizard tech tip: Text to Speech Jeff Vizard 1 01-15-2009 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC