WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2008, 02:42 PM
whj whj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
texture problem with .wrl file

Hello,

I created a simple scene by maya 7.0 and exported it as file "test.wrl". The scene includes both polygon and nurbs surfaces with texture. When I loaded it into vizard using viz.add('test.wrl'), the texture was gone. Could anybody help me find the reason and fix it? (Files are attached.)

Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	blacktop.jpg
Views:	434
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	234   Click image for larger version

Name:	veg059.jpg
Views:	461
Size:	172.0 KB
ID:	235  
Attached Files
File Type: zip test.zip (321.0 KB, 395 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:09 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
I believe the problem is that your vrml file uses a Switch node, which our loader does not currently support. I will try to add support for this and post an update if successful. I'm not familiar with Maya, so I don't know of a workaround, sorry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:23 AM
whj whj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Thanks for the reply.

What's Switch node? Is it a concept in Vizard or Maya?

I found that if I export the model to obj file, at least the polygon surface works fine, but all nurbs surfaces lost texture. So I'm going to convert all nurbs surfaces into polygon. Does that mean obj file works better than wrl file in Vizard?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:42 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
I've updated our loader to support the Switch node and your test model works fine now. Email me at lashkari@worldviz.com and I will send you the updated loader.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:56 AM
whj whj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Hi,

I also found that if I use "repeat UV" in texture mapping polygon model, all texture lost again. But after I convert the obj file into 3ds file, it works fine. Does it mean 3ds file is more reliable than obj file in Vizard?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:09 PM
whj whj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
The the updated loader for the Switch node works very well. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skydome texture problem theuberk Vizard 2 01-18-2008 05:56 AM
Problem on adding OSG file felixchc Vizard 4 10-06-2006 11:26 AM
texture mapping problem dellatails Vizard 1 03-12-2006 11:13 AM
avatar head texture issues rconrey Vizard 3 11-17-2004 04:05 PM
Texture map rendering problem JRichizzle Vizard 4 03-04-2004 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC