WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Old 11-09-2006, 03:28 PM

Image blur

We're trying to simulate visual degredation in humans.

Is there a way to blur the image that the user sees in Vizard? We tried fog and placing a semi-transparent sheet in front of the camera, but neither of those are quite right. We want something that looks like the camera is out of focus. Something that merges adjacent pixels together.
Old 11-09-2006, 10:12 PM

Red face ...vizard plugins?

If I'm not mistaken...You need to create a custom renderer plug ins for Vizard to do this, or by using OpenGL Shader Language.

Since I'm only a 3d modeler, I don't have the head show you how this is done :P

Regards,
k_iwan
Old 11-10-2006, 09:29 AM
WorldViz Team Member

I have a sample script that performs a uniform blur over the entire screen. Is this what you are looking for? The script only works with the latest version of Vizard 3.0 and requires a decent graphics card that supports shaders. Are you able to use 3.0? Also, do you need this effect to work in stereo, or just mono?
Old 11-15-2006, 01:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo
I have a sample script that performs a uniform blur over the entire screen. Is this what you are looking for? The script only works with the latest version of Vizard 3.0 and requires a decent graphics card that supports shaders. Are you able to use 3.0? Also, do you need this effect to work in stereo, or just mono?
Yes, we are using 3.0. I'm not sure if we have a decent graphics card, but I'd certainly like to try it. We only need mono.
Thanks!
Old 11-15-2006, 02:40 PM
WorldViz Team Member

I've attached a zip file which contains a script testBlur.py. This script depends on the included vizblur.py module. This example will only run on Vizard 3.00.1723 and above. You will need a graphics card that supports shaders.

Also, in the future please post Vizard 3.0 related questions in the Vizard 3.0 forum.
Attached Files