WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2007, 12:51 PM
pgagolf pgagolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Question position tracking with patriot

Any suggestions on position tracking with the patriot system? The first three set of numbers come up but they are very small. The orientation is works great and everything has been easy to use for a first time user. What needs to be changed in order to get a bigger distance representation in motion tracking of the sensor?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:29 AM
Gladsomebeast Gladsomebeast is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Isla Vizta, CA
Posts: 397
The Patriot should return the distance the sensors are from the source in meters.

Not sure what is causing your problem. Perhaps the sensors are out of range of the source; try placing the the sensors within .5 meters of the source. You can also use the Patriot PDI manager software to verify the data output of the Patriot.
__________________
Paul Elliott
WorldViz LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2007, 02:33 PM
hosier hosier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
I would hazzard a guess that it's not so much a problem as is is a matter of scale.

Since the patriot's distance is reported in meters, the typical maximum is about 1.5 meters. Since the default scale is 1 meter per unit in the vizard world, if you directly attach your object to the tracker, you get at most a 1.5 unit translation. This is why I typically read the data from the tracker into an array and then multiply a scale factor to the xyz component.

There's probably a better way to do this, but it's worked so far.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2007, 03:04 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
You can apply a scaling factor to the data when you link it to an object. For example, if you were using the patriot for head tracking you would do the following to scale the movement by a factor of 3:
Code:
patriot = viz.add('patriot.dls')
link = viz.link(patriot,viz.MainView)
link.postScale([3,3,3],target=viz.LINK_POS_OP) #Scale movement by factor of 3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2007, 04:42 AM
pgagolf pgagolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Thumbs up position tracking with patriot

Thank you!!! Its definitely a scale issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC