WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2016, 11:02 AM
willpower2727 willpower2727 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 39
Question Diffuse Maps in 3ds not exporting to OSGB

I know this has been a topic a few times, but I can't figure out how to get the osgb exporter in 3ds to export my diffuse maps correctly. I've attached images of my desired export result, how it looks when rendered in 3ds, and my osgb export settings. I apologize the screen shot from Vizard is dark, but the issue is that none of my maps made it through the export process.

Any help, ideas, or directions is greatly appreciated!

I'm using 3ds MAX 2013 with Vizard 5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desired.png
Views:	296
Size:	738.0 KB
ID:	799   Click image for larger version

Name:	hmrl8.png
Views:	305
Size:	105.1 KB
ID:	800   Click image for larger version

Name:	osgbsettings1.png
Views:	285
Size:	230.9 KB
ID:	801   Click image for larger version

Name:	osgbsettings2.png
Views:	305
Size:	236.0 KB
ID:	802  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2016, 05:24 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,448
I'll ask one of our artists to take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2016, 05:43 AM
willpower2727 willpower2727 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 39
Let me know if I should attach the files, if that would be helpful
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2016, 01:20 PM
willpower2727 willpower2727 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 39
I found a somewhat adequate solution. I baked my diffuse maps and they show up in the osgb, however I am not perfectly in control of my mappings yet so the textures appear odd but they are there. Baking is the solution I think.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:13 PM
Veleno Veleno is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
Hey, sorry I missed this one.

One possible cause is using a material type that the exporter can't read (e.g. VRayMtl), but it's tough to say without seeing a sample file.

If you still need a real solution to the problem, feel free to upload a small isolated sample that reproduces the problem (e.g. a single box).

The best way to send over export settings is to use the "preset" option in the bottom left of the OSG Exporter window. I've uploaded a copy of the settings that worldviz typically uses.

I also noticed in your screenshots that you had some of the optimization features checked. Most users should actually be disabling them - they're really only useful in some very specific situations, and minimally at that, and can do more harm than good if used in a model that doesn't need them.
Attached Files
File Type: zip wv_osg_defaults.zip (302 Bytes, 259 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3ds max, osgb, osgb export

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3ds max 2014 crashing on exporting to OSGB raj Vizard 1 09-16-2015 03:13 PM
Trouble Exporting OSGB Animations via Sequence Helper (3Ds Max) envi253 Vizard 1 06-05-2015 11:31 AM
Demystifying exporting light maps from 3ds Max to Vizard? dproeder Vizard 1 06-14-2013 01:34 PM
Weird colors exporting OSGB from 3DS nkinerd Vizard 2 05-09-2013 03:53 PM
3DS Max Export: automatic shader assignment for various maps emlyn Vizard 0 03-14-2008 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC