WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Precision Position Tracker (PPT)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:14 PM
Vic Vic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Vizard not detecting PPT

Hello,

I'm currently using Vizard 3.0 and executing some code following the format within the PPT documentation. However, whenever I run my code, I get an error message saying "Failed to connect to PPT on local machine". I've toggled the "Talk" button in PPT many times, but to no avail. I'm wondering what could have caused this error and how I can fix it. Thanks!

Vic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:45 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
What version of PPT are you using and which output plugins do you have active?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2009, 06:05 AM
Vic Vic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
I'm currently using PPT Studio 2008 and using VRPN 7 as the output.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2009, 08:55 AM
Vic Vic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
I managed to get it working. Thanks a lot for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2009, 11:20 AM
funplorer funplorer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to funplorer Send a message via Yahoo to funplorer
Vic,

I am having a similar problem.

How did you fix it?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:38 PM
borryshasian borryshasian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
What if PPT and Vizard are on different PCs? Somehow the Vizard didn't get any data from PPT
Anyone can help?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:45 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,448
Add the VRPN 7 output plug-in in PPT Studio.

Make sure all firewalls and virus scanners are disabled on both the PPT and rendering machines.

Place marker 1 in the tracking area and press Talk.

In Vizard run the following code, replace hostname with the name of your PPT machine:
Code:
import viz
viz.go()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
tracker = vrpn.addTracker('PPT0@hostname',0) 

gallery = viz.addChild('gallery.ive')

viz.link(tracker, viz.MainView)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Vizard tech tip: Text to Speech Jeff Vizard 1 01-15-2009 09:39 PM
Vizard and Augmented Reality realvision Vizard 4 04-04-2008 10:59 AM
Vizard won't run wouters Vizard 5 02-05-2008 11:12 AM
Fall 2007 release of Vizard R3 3 D Announcements 0 10-15-2007 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC