WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Old 06-29-2006, 05:20 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to Joran
Lightbulb Ideas for Vizard support in OSGExp

Hello,

I was thinking about adding some options to OSGExp (The osg exporter for 3ds max) especially for vizard. I am just starting to learn Vizard, so I am not sure if these options would be needed. My current ideas are:
  • Export point helpers to a python script.
  • Export camera positions and orientations to a python script.

I am thinking to create for a file called test.osg also a test.py that contains the data mentioned above. By including this file in your script, you will have access to the point helpers and camera's that where defined in the Max file.

What do you think? Is this useful?

Another idea is to export this information to an general file format, like xml. Maybe that is an better idea, that way it is more general.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Greetings, Joran.
Old 06-29-2006, 11:58 AM

How about adding invisible objects to your Max scene in place of the cameras and helper points? You can then access them in Vizard by calling <VizNode>.getchild() and get their orientations and positions. Would that provide the functionality you are looking for?
Old 06-30-2006, 01:12 AM

If I know the name of the camera, I can get it using getChild() in Vizard. But if I want a list of all defined camera's, I don't know how to get them. Any suggestions?

This is the same for the point helpers. I can find one named point helper, but how to get all point helpers?
Old 07-05-2006, 12:56 PM
WorldViz Team Member

This is definitely an effort the some of the developers at WorldViz would be interested in supporting. Can you explain some of the rationale behind what your suggesting? I'm not sure I get why you're wanting to access point helpers?
Old 07-06-2006, 12:44 AM