WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2016, 04:50 AM
rajnishv rajnishv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kalina,Sanatcruz(East),Mumbai,Maharashtra,India
Posts: 94
Smile Regarding changing &using multiple tools at same time through vizconnect

Hi Jeff,
I have a demo of a JET VR.
In the demo i have used highlighter and sucessfully called onHighLight Event and achieved successfully.
How after using highlighter on 3D parts i have to use the Grabber tool and some tools mentioned in the tools section of vizconnect.
But i am not able to the grabber tools at the same with highlighter,but when i remove highlighter from vizconnect,i am able to use the grabber alone.

Some questions in my mind,which i need to understand:

1)Does vizard support one tool usage at one time thru vizconnect?
2)How to use multiple tools at the same time thru vizconnect programmitically?
3)How to change one tool and then use the other and vice versa one at a time thru vizconnect programmitically?

Request you to pls assist me JEFF.

Thanx&Regards
Mr.Rajnish Vishwakarma
Mobile,AR,VR
Xenium Digital Pvt ltd,Mumbai
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2016, 05:35 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Are both tools mapped to the same input signals?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2016, 12:13 AM
rajnishv rajnishv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kalina,Sanatcruz(East),Mumbai,Maharashtra,India
Posts: 94
Smile Regarding changing &using multiple tools at same time through vizconnect

Thanks for ur reply JEFF.

No i have not mapped the same input for both the tools.
I am using keyboard as a input for highlighting tool and mouse for the grabber tool.
Request u to pls go through my vizconnect Config file attached.

Also i want to know as whats the problem by mapping the same input to all tools ?
Attached Files
File Type: zip vizconnect_ConfigJetVr.zip (3.7 KB, 1405 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2016, 04:30 AM
rajnishv rajnishv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kalina,Sanatcruz(East),Mumbai,Maharashtra,India
Posts: 94
Hi Jeff request you to pls reply for my last post.
that is below and also pls see to my vizconnect_config file.."vizconnect_ConfigJetVr.zip"

Pls see to the above post
Last Post:

Thanks for ur reply JEFF.

No i have not mapped the same input for both the tools.
I am using keyboard as a input for highlighting tool and mouse for the grabber tool.
Request u to pls go through my vizconnect Config file attached.

Also i want to know as whats the problem by mapping the same input to all tools ?
Attached Files
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2016, 05:20 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
The vizconnect file worked for me. Make sure you set the item list for both the grabber and highlighter in the script that imports the configuration. For example:

Code:
shapes = [pyramid,torus,box]

grabber = vizconnect.getRawTool('grabber')
grabber.setItems(shapes)

highlighter = vizconnect.getRawTool('highlighter')
highlighter.setItems(shapes)
If you map the same input signals to multiple tools I'm not sure if both tools will work at the same time. However, in most cases you probably would want only one of those tools enabled at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2016, 02:57 AM
rajnishv rajnishv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kalina,Sanatcruz(East),Mumbai,Maharashtra,India
Posts: 94
Smile Tools behavior in different modes

Hi Jeff,
I have achieved the grabbing and highlighting logic in the program.The problem was due to,i forgot to write the onGrab(e) and onRealease(e),but after this correction and using tool.setItems(shapes) for both(Grabber & Highlighter),it get working but have some issues.

I have some problems & question,request u to pls assist me:
1)I have use same input (as mouse or keyboard or joystick) with different input signals for both the tools and i have used highlight mode grabber is 'outline' and the highlight mode for higlighter is 'box' both works and but when i keep the highlight mode for both the tools as 'same' highlighter works but grabber fails to grab that object.

2)Sometimes when i move in the scene ,some objects gets grabbed and during the movement whne i again try to grab the same object the object doesnt gets grabbed.
Why such behaviour does Vizard performs?

3)Does grabber highlight mode and highlighter mode affects the grab and highlight operation in both the ways?

4)Does taking multiple tools affects the tools taken into vizconnect?

5)Last but not the least,how to activate a tool and deactivate a tool if more than 2 or multiple tools ,such that we can use only one at a time and vice versa.
Waiting for ur reply jeff.


Thanx&Regards
Mr.Rajnish Vishwakarma
Mobile,AR,VR
Xenium Digital Pvt ltd,Mumbai
Attached Files
File Type: zip vizconnect_ConfigJetVr.zip (3.8 KB, 1399 views)

Last edited by rajnishv; 09-01-2016 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2016, 05:18 AM
rajnishv rajnishv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kalina,Sanatcruz(East),Mumbai,Maharashtra,India
Posts: 94
Hi Jeff,requesting you to pls reply to my last post.
Thank you!!

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------#
Hi Jeff,
I have achieved the grabbing and highlighting logic in the program.The problem was due to,i forgot to write the onGrab(e) and onRealease(e),but after this correction and using tool.setItems(shapes) for both(Grabber & Highlighter),it get working but have some issues.

I have some problems & question,request u to pls assist me:
1)I have use same input (as mouse or keyboard or joystick) with different input signals for both the tools and i have used highlight mode grabber is 'outline' and the highlight mode for higlighter is 'box' both works and but when i keep the highlight mode for both the tools as 'same' highlighter works but grabber fails to grab that object.

2)Sometimes when i move in the scene ,some objects gets grabbed and during the movement whne i again try to grab the same object the object doesnt gets grabbed.
Why such behaviour does Vizard performs?

3)Does grabber highlight mode and highlighter mode affects the grab and highlight operation in both the ways?

4)Does taking multiple tools affects the tools taken into vizconnect?

5)Last but not the least,how to activate a tool and deactivate a tool if more than 2 or multiple tools ,such that we can use only one at a time and vice versa.
Waiting for ur reply jeff.


Thanx&Regards
Mr.Rajnish Vishwakarma
Mobile,AR,VR
Xenium Digital Pvt ltd,Mumbai
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2016, 04:48 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
I tested using the same highlight method for both grabber and highlight and the grabbing worked fine. Can you post example code that shows the issue?

Once you get a handle to a tool you can call the setEnabled method on it with viz.ON, viz.OFF, or viz.TOGGLE:

Code:
grabber = vizconnect.getTool('grabber')
grabber.setEnabled(viz.OFF)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timer question Elittdogg Vizard 5 10-10-2007 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC