WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2012, 12:03 PM
DillonB DillonB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
No Output from InertialLabs Sensor

Hello. I am trying to modify one of the headtracking tutorials to work with a sensor from InertialLabs instead of one from intersense. Vizard seems to be able to connect to the sensor, but it does not seem to be receiving any output from the device ( line 33 prints the euler values and they are always zero). I was wondering if anyone might know why this is.
Code:
#################################################################
#	WorldViz Copyright 2002										#
#  This script demonstrates how perform grab the raw data 		#
#  from the head tracker plugin.								#
#																#
#################################################################

import viz
import vizact

viz.setMultiSample(4)
viz.fov(60)
viz.go()

import vizinfo
vizinfo.add('This script demonstrates how to perform manual head tracking.\nIt will retrieve data from the tracker and only rotate the yaw.\nBy default this script will connect to an intersense.\nPress the \'r\' key to reset the tracker')

#Add environment
viz.addChild('gallery.osgb')

# Create Inertial Labs extension
InertialLabs = viz.add('InertialLabs.dle')

# Connect to sensor on port 5
sensor = InertialLabs.addOSv3(5) 

def updateView():
    #pos = sensor.getPosition()
    euler = sensor.getEuler()

    #viz.MainView.setPosition([pos[0], pos[1]+1.82, pos[2]])
    viz.MainView.setEuler(euler)
    print euler

vizact.ontimer(0,updateView)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2012, 01:57 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,418
Do you have any InertialLabs software connecting to the tracker at the same time? If so, try closing that down. Can you post the script output?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2012, 06:32 AM
DillonB DillonB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
I don't have the software running at the same time. When I do I get this error:
Code:
InertialLabs.dle         	InertialLabs Extension
** ERROR: Failed to open OSv3 device on port 5 (Error: Can't open commport.)
** ERROR: Failed to create extension sensor with InertialLabs.dle
** Load Time: 0.22 seconds
[0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
[0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
[0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
Otherwise I get:
Code:
Loading File: gallery.osgb
InertialLabs.dle         	InertialLabs Extension
** Load Time: 1.34 seconds
[0.0, -0.0, 0.0]
[0.0, -0.0, 0.0]
[0.0, -0.0, 0.0]
From this I'm fairly certain that Vizard is finding the sensor. For example, notice that the pitch changes from zero to negative zero. However, the sample of the script's output shows that output from the device (or a change in the output) is not received.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2012, 11:37 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Is the sensor connected to an Inertial Labs Sensor Bus? If so, you will need to use the InertialLabs.addSensorBus method instead to connect to the sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2012, 12:51 PM
DillonB DillonB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Actually, I was looking through some more documentation and I had just tried that. I updated my code so that now it looks like this (difference begins at line 22):
Code:
#################################################################
#	WorldViz Copyright 2002										#
#  This script demonstrates how perform grab the raw data 		#
#  from the head tracker plugin.								#
#																#
#################################################################

import viz
import vizact

viz.setMultiSample(4)
viz.fov(60)
viz.go()

import vizinfo
vizinfo.add('This script demonstrates how to perform manual head tracking.\nIt will retrieve data from the tracker and only rotate the yaw.\nBy default this script will connect to an intersense.\nPress the \'r\' key to reset the tracker')

#Add environment
viz.addChild('gallery.osgb')

InertialLabs = viz.add('InertialLabs.dle')
sensors =InertialLabs.addSensorBus(workset=0,port=5)

# Get handle to first sensor
sensor1 = sensors[0]

def updateView():
    #pos = sensor.getPosition()
    euler = sensor.getEuler()

    #viz.MainView.setPosition([pos[0], pos[1]+1.82, pos[2]])
    viz.MainView.setEuler(euler)
    print euler

vizact.ontimer(0,updateView)
However, I get this error:
Quote:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 11, in <module>
File "C:\Users\dbak\Documents\vizard-programs\Vizard1.py", line 21, in <module>
sensors = InertialLabs.addSensorBus(workset=0,port=5)
AttributeError: '_InertialLabsExtension' object has no attribute 'addSensorBus'
In summary, I am in fact using a sensor bus, but the addSensorBus method is not working for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:34 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Are you using the Inertial Labs plugin that comes with the latest version of Vizard? My guess is you are not.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2012, 06:03 AM
DillonB DillonB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
I found the file in the plug-ins folder. It says it was last modified on 8/19/2011. I'm assumming this is the day it was finished. What version of Vizard does this correspond with? If there is a newer version of the file, where would I be able to download it? Currently I am using Vizard 4.02.0315.

Last edited by DillonB; 07-13-2012 at 06:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2012, 09:11 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
You don't have the latest version. Go to Help -> Check for Updates
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-13-2012, 12:44 PM
DillonB DillonB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thank you for all the help; it is working now. My bad, I should have made sure all my software was up-to-date.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headtracking

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a Vizard Sensor Plugin farshizzo Plug-in development 24 04-18-2013 04:45 AM
Unusual tracker sensor setup with Vizard Zhi Vizard 2 06-12-2012 09:52 AM
sensor or not sensor? nige777 Vizard 0 03-29-2011 04:03 AM
wiimote and sensor bar masaki Vizard 1 03-06-2008 03:07 PM
Multiple Copies of same sensor plugin RedSpikeyThing Plug-in development 2 02-12-2008 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC