WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2018, 10:34 AM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Exclamation Creating InfoPanel on screen with HMD vizconnect

Hi there,

I'm trying to create an InfoPanel from the default vizinfo.InfoPanel class. It runs fine in desktop mode, but with an HMD vizconnect running the InfoPanel is being drawn twice on the monitor. Almost as if the InfoPanel is being rendered in stereo mode, and the rest of the scene is being rendered with the left eye on the monitor.

The purpose of this is to create an "Instructor View" on the monitor with controls that are only visible to the instructor.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2018, 10:21 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,426
Can you attach the vizconnect file you are using and example code used in Vizard to add the panel?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2018, 01:49 PM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Sure thing. I have done so here. I deleted all the project specific stuff, so hopefully it runs for you okay. I want to see just one InfoPanel on the monitor.
Attached Files
File Type: txt TestFile.txt (2.2 KB, 12 views)
File Type: txt vizconnect_config_vive.txt (19.1 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:52 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,426
The mirrored window on the monitor displays correctly in mono, right? If you run the following code with your vizconnect file, do you see the panel rendered once?

Code:
import viz
import vizconnect
import vizinfo

vizconnect.go(vizconnect_config_vive.py)
viz.addChild('piazza.osgb')
vizinfo.InfoPanel('Panel Test')
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2018, 07:05 AM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
No, I am still seeing it rendered twice. I've uploaded a screenshot of what I'm seeing when I run your code.

Thank you for looking into this, it's really becoming a problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	test_infoPanel_ss.gif
Views:	11
Size:	269.6 KB
ID:	973  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2018, 07:05 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,426
Do you see the panel rendered twice when running the following code:

Code:
import viz
import vizinfo
import steamvr

viz.go()

hmd = steamvr.HMD()
viz.link(hmd.getSensor(), viz.MainView)
hmd.setMonoMirror(True)

viz.addChild('piazza.osgb')
vizinfo.InfoPanel('Panel Test')
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2018, 08:12 AM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Yes, I still see two panels on the monitor view. I'm using Vizard 5.8, so I'm unsure if there is any difference in our steamvr.dle plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2018, 07:27 AM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Any updates on this? Looking for a quick solution. Can't seem to work through the issue myself. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2018, 09:32 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,426
Add the following line of code to render the panel only once:

Code:
panel.renderToEye(viz.LEFT_EYE)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-07-2018, 08:55 AM
seowen1 seowen1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
That did the trick! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gui, hmd, mono, render, stereo

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching between input devices setup in vizconnect and not using vizconnect JB_HP_Viz Vizard 1 01-20-2015 06:19 AM
Vizconnect Save As Dialog Jeff Vizard 0 05-01-2014 10:45 AM
Screen Size and Scaling javadi Vizard 2 04-02-2013 06:56 PM
Attach a TexQuad to pit.osgb screen Ducky Vizard 1 01-17-2013 03:57 PM
position of html-file on screen active_world Vizard 1 05-16-2008 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC