WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2013, 01:47 AM
elpetto elpetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Vicon Data smoothing

Hi guys,
first the facts:
- I combined an HMD with Vicon-Tracker ('vrpn7.dle') via Vizard. That works really good.
- if the subject moves with the HMD it gets the same motion displayed on the HMD. This works also good
But now the problem the output is really shaky/wobbly when moving. So is there a possibility to smooth/round up the incoming vicon data from:
[0.04924468696117401, 0.5773015022277832, -0.018296783789992332]
[179.3428955078125, -69.40995025634766, 88.83070373535156]
to:
[0.0, 0.5, -0.1]
[179.3, -69.4, 88.8]
Just cutting of everything after the first digit after the point (cut the decimal place)?


Thanks a lot,

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2013, 07:30 AM
Frank Verberne Frank Verberne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 148
Hi Patrick,

Rounding off is pretty easy:
Code:
numbers = [179.3428955078125, -69.40995025634766, 88.83070373535156]
for i, number in enumerate(numbers):
	numbers[i] = round(number,1)
	
print numbers
However, I don't know if that will result in smoother tracking, because the coordinates will not be on a continuum. However, you can always try .

Another option to smooth your tracking would be to (re)calibrate your tracker, or to decrease the distance from your tracker to your tracking device. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2014, 06:22 AM
ChrisMa ChrisMa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Hello,

Do you use the Smoothing Option in Vicon Tracker? You can find it in the advanced Settings of you Vicon System.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2014, 01:36 AM
elpetto elpetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Yes, I tried the Tracker smoothing, but when I increase the smoothing in the Tracker the movement gets a delay. And I thought it might just help to round the incoming data with vizard. Because it would just help if Vizard uses [3.2] instead of the incoming [3.21545684878712479] (as an x position example)...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2014, 07:08 AM
ChrisMa ChrisMa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Hello,

I'm using the Tracker at about 240Hz and the smoothing is set to 3. It feels pretty good. The latency is something between 25 and 40ms. Could you descirbe shaking and wobling a little more. If the calibration is not right and I have a lot of ghosts in the tracking the coordinatesystems start to change from one frame to another and it gets shaky. Means the world suddenly turn 40 degreas etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Vicon Tracker Data ChrisMa Vizard 3 09-23-2013 10:46 AM
Use saved text file data as replay sources problem mizutani_jun Vizard 4 10-14-2010 04:49 PM
vicon pluglin - cluster problems Andy Vizard 2 11-10-2009 01:04 AM
Integrating InertiaCube and Vicon data roman_suvorov Vizard 10 05-20-2008 04:30 PM
tracking using quaternarion data jfreeman Vizard 2 06-01-2005 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC