WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2014, 03:15 PM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
How do I get the Cave viewpoint location?

Hello,

I have another question about CAVE collision. I am using cView = vizcave.CaveView(...) for the view point.

I have one last collision problem. When going backward down a hill/stairs, the view point likes to get trapped underneath the hill/stairs. I think I can correct for it if I can get cView's Y value, but cView.getPosition() returns the joystick position or [0,0,0]. What is the call/mask needed to get the cView position?

I can't set the viz.eyeheight() any higher since I am already having trouble with colliding with the tops of doorways (which are at 2m).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2014, 11:51 AM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
One more item. I am getting a collision error from vizard, that I have no idea how to handle. It only happens when moving quickly through a opening vizAvatar door. It is:

Code:
File "<string>", line 1
    viz.VizIntersect([1,23.610281,0.621243,-17.971189,-0.876875,-0.000000,0.480718,399,-1.#QNAN0,''])
                                                                                                    ^
SyntaxError: unexpected EOF while parsing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2014, 05:23 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
The following code showed the cave view position updates when added to the example script in Vizard's CAVE documentation:
Code:
def printPosition():
	print cave_origin.getPosition()
	
vizact.ontimer(1,printPosition)
Have you linked or parented the cave view to another object?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:03 AM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
I have not. Doing so made the view spin or froze the view point.

The bigger problem right now is the intersection error. How do I catch it so it does not crash the program?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:41 AM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
I forgot...I am assuming that cave-origin is the cave's view point returned by vizcave.CaveView(...). That works correct until I collide with a wall, then it keeps going while the viewpoint stays still.

I have not linked it other than giving it a tracker.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:18 PM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
Update on collision error. I happens when hitting a vizAvatar even when going slow and have it running on the HMD, but not all vizAvatar. It went away (I hope) after I removed the collision event handler. That is a problem since I need it for the CAVE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent orthographic stereo projection problems AySz88 Vizard 10 02-17-2012 12:50 PM
[New here] Cave joy navigation esuna114 Vizard 2 06-11-2010 04:36 PM
Flipped floor in a CAVE shivanangel Vizard 1 03-10-2010 10:12 AM
Gps input for viewpoint location? realvision Vizard 3 03-19-2008 12:37 PM
VRML Viewpoint error bstankie Vizard 1 03-11-2003 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC