WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:01 AM
hotshotiguana hotshotiguana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Publish to exe Script

I am trying to create new versions of my software on the fly - currently the software is only available on the desktop. For example, I want to have the capability for a user to select certain parameters on our website and then have a new version created for them with those specified parameters. Is it possible to run the "File-->Publish as EXE" command from a script to create a new executable of our software? If not, does anyone have any suggestions on how to go about this?

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:41 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Yes, this should be possible. Here are the steps you need to follow:
  • Go through the standard "Publish to EXE" workflow.
  • On the "Finished Publishing" dialog at the end, save the publish settings by clicking on the "click here" link. This should save the publish settings file to your script folder.
  • You can now automatically generate the exe using the settings file through the following command line:
    Code:
    Vizard.exe -publish "<full path to the publish settings file>"
    This should create an exe in the same folder as the settings file with the same filename. For example, if your settings file was located at "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.xml", the EXE would be located at "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.exe".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2012, 12:54 PM
hotshotiguana hotshotiguana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks for the response!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2013, 12:00 PM
Adam.Grey Adam.Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
I attempted to use vizard.exe -publish, and it just launches vizard. Has this feature been removed?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:42 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,462
Try specifying the path to the vizard.exe in the bin folder:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard4\bin\vizard.exe" -publish "C:\MyScript\MyDemo.xml"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2013, 01:30 PM
Adam.Grey Adam.Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Gave that a shot, no luck. If it finds the file and begins publishing but runs into an error, will it report back in any way? Should I reroute stderr?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2013, 05:08 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,462
When you publish the first time from the Vizard GUI is there any problem?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2015, 10:34 AM
meltaweel meltaweel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Hello ,
it's an old topic , but i have the same problem as Adam.

i'm using Vizard 5 and i tried to do this as explained above

"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard5\bin\vizard.exe" -publish "C:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\SETTINGS_FILE.xml


it doesn't show up with any thing and the exe file doesn't be generated beside the XML file as Jeff said.

and yes when i have published first time from Vizard GUI , it published the exe without any problems and was working fine. and i've used the "publish settings" XML file from the "Finished Building" step.


and i have ensured that the bin file path working fine because when i run
"C:\Program Files (x86)\WorldViz\Vizard5\bin\vizard.exe" this it opens the Vizard IDE successfully !


please help !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
exe, on the fly, publish

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting Vizard from a Python script hotspur1 Vizard 12 06-12-2019 12:03 PM
Simplest script not working vasiliys Vizard 2 10-25-2011 10:24 AM
script file available - but missing spdegabrielle Vizard 1 05-06-2009 10:04 AM
Publish EXE with win32com djdesmangles Vizard 7 08-13-2008 03:49 PM
Intersense Script wouters Vizard 2 04-07-2008 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC