WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2007, 02:38 PM
Atul Thakur Atul Thakur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Flock of Birds

Hi,
I am new to this community. I am using Flock of Birds (FOB=1). Following is the simple scripts I am trying
PHP Code:
import viz
viz
.go()
BAUD_FOB 38400
PORT_FOB 
1

sensor 
viz.add('flockofbirds.dls')

def mytimernum ):
    print 
sensor.getPosition()

viz.callbackviz.TIMER_EVENTmytimer )
viz.starttimer00.5viz.FOREVER 
The output expected is the dynamic positions of Wanda as I move it. But I am getting same coordinates repeated.
However, if I run the script again, I get the new coordinates <which shows that hardware works fine>, repeating again.
Not sure what is the mistake in the code, I am making.
Someone, kindly help.

-Atul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:04 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Do you get the same problem with the sample program that comes with the Flock of Birds, or does it only happen in Vizard? I remember having a similar problem before and I had to reset the Flock of Birds device to get it working again. Also, make sure you have the correct dip switch settings for the specified baud rate and number of birds you are using.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:12 PM
Atul Thakur Atul Thakur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
The sample program cbird.exe is running fine. I mean, when i move the wanda, the coordinates change in case of cbird.exe <not yet calibrated it though>
However, in case of Vizard the coordinates do not change in one run.
But when I run the script in Vizard again after moving the wanda, the position is changed. This indicates that apparently there is no hardware problem.
I checked the Baud rate and dipswitch setting. As per the Ascension manual the settings are right.
thanks,
-Atul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:16 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Do you have an ERT (Extended Range Transmitter) connected?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:47 PM
Atul Thakur Atul Thakur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo View Post
Do you have an ERT (Extended Range Transmitter) connected?
Apologies for my limited knowledge about the hardware. The transmitter that I have, seems to be the standard one. Its not an ERT. The transmitter is connected properly.
is this what you wanted to know?
-Atul
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2007, 04:47 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
The ERT is a really huge, heavy, black transmitter. You would definitely know what it is if you had one

I just tested your script here and it works fine for me. Can you verify that you are using the following dip switch settings:

1 - down
2 - up
3 - down
4 - up
5 - up
6 - up
7 - up
8 - up
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:18 PM
Atul Thakur Atul Thakur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo View Post
The ERT is a really huge, heavy, black transmitter. You would definitely know what it is if you had one

I just tested your script here and it works fine for me. Can you verify that you are using the following dip switch settings:

1 - down
2 - up
3 - down
4 - up
5 - up
6 - up
7 - up
8 - up
It works now!!
My dip switch setting earlier was 10100010. I changed it to 10100000 as you said. And now it works fine for me.
Thank you very much,

-Atul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flock of Birds recognized, but no data sent sjroorda Vizard 9 03-01-2016 09:48 PM
Flock of Birds question (again) Elittdogg Vizard 24 12-04-2007 10:37 AM
Using vrpn_server with Flock of birds sylvain Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 3 11-30-2007 10:45 AM
Flock of Birds Elittdogg Vizard 9 10-02-2007 02:53 PM
Adding more than one Flock of Birds asimbh Vizard 3 12-15-2006 02:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC