WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:34 PM
johanzebin johanzebin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to johanzebin
Problem with importing Quake2/md2 models

Hi everybody,
I'm currently fiddling around with the Trial Version (3.12.0004), and one of the first things I wanted to try is loading a md2 model... mostly just for the fun of it.
However now it took me at least 2 hours until I found out how to convert those REALLY old QuakeI-models into md2, but if I try to add them into Vizard (via viz.add), I get the following:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 11, in ?
  File "VizardTutorial1.py", line 5, in ?
    ogre = viz.add('ogre.MD2')
  File "F:\Program Files\WorldViz\Vizard30/python\viz.py", line 8575, in add
    raise ValueError, 'Unrecognized file extension: '+fileType
ValueError: Unrecognized file extension: MD2
I also downloaded some random md2 models from the web, and ran into the same error message... is it a problem of the Trial Version, my files, or is this format just not supported anymore?

Any suggestions into which format I should convert the md2-file to, in order to oblige Vizard most likely? I already tried Blender, but somehow the textures got lost on the way (the plain meshes worked, though!)...

Last edited by johanzebin; 02-15-2009 at 04:42 PM. Reason: cancer in spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:45 PM
johanzebin johanzebin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to johanzebin
Haha, great success!
At least, I got the texture to work - I simply added a texture I found on the internets... (the mesh was converted from .md2 to .wrl using Blender)

Now I would like to have it all - has anybody ever converted the animations of a .md2 into something Vizard can read? It's just that I'm a complete noob and don't want to spend a whole day on this small journey into 3D-modeling^^
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:47 PM
johanzebin johanzebin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to johanzebin
Talking

... oh sorry I forgot to include the screenshot which proves it all!

Please answer if you know how to convert an .md2 file with all its animations into something Vizard can read easily!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	QuakeOgreInVizard.jpg
Views:	466
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	292  

Last edited by johanzebin; 02-15-2009 at 06:54 PM. Reason: making my question more salient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2013, 02:02 AM
vserchi vserchi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Hi Johanzebin, I encountered in the same problem. Have solved it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing from Blender and getting "real" sizes for models? tmcw Vizard 1 03-19-2007 10:37 AM
importing a single WRL with many objects. giancamati Vizard 3 12-18-2006 02:13 PM
Problem on adding OSG file felixchc Vizard 4 10-06-2006 12:26 PM
5DT Data Glove 5 Ultra Problem bjgold Vizard 1 08-08-2006 05:08 PM
problem with female animations vmonkey Vizard 1 10-07-2005 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC