WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:41 AM
byronhulcher byronhulcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
World/Origin Shifting and Rotation

Hello, I'm creating a project using Vizard 3.18 for human reaction testing. However, our lab is quite small, and we need to make maximum use of the space. To this end, I'm trying to shift the origin of our world within environment a few meters and rotate the x and z axes by approximately 45 degrees to take advantage of additional diagonal space. Is there an easy command to do this, or am I stuck applying this transformation to every object I add into the world?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:49 AM
byronhulcher byronhulcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
I've recently discovered the HMD.__init__ function within vizhmd.py which is extended by nvis.py, which my program is currently using to access the HMD. However, I'm not really sure how to use this to apply changes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:11 AM
byronhulcher byronhulcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Actually, I think I'm better off using the viz.link functions, if I'm reading the WorldViz documentation correctly. Does anyone have experience with these?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:14 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Do you want to offset the viewpoint linked to tracking data? If so, take a look at the following code. Using the <link>.postTrans and <link>postEuler operators, the viewpoint is offset 1 meter in height and 45 degrees in yaw from the tracking data.
Code:
link = viz.link(tracker,viz.MainView)
link.postTrans([0,1,0])	            
link.postEuler([45,0,0])
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:48 PM
c4am95 c4am95 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
what if you're not using an HMD? i'm having a similar issue, but for testing purposes i can't use these methods to apply world transformation (there's no link). what could you do to rotate the world/translate the origin without the link?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC