WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:28 AM
vijaykiran vijaykiran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Tiling in a cluster setting

Hello,

I looked at setting up a cluster for multiple walls with one instance of Vizard running on each wall here (http://www.worldviz.com/vizhelp/Conf...ur_cluster.htm). I was wondering what needs to be done for running multiple instances of Vizard tiled together on a single wall.

I was wondering if there is any documentation on doing this.

Each of our projectors have four video inputs, so four instances of Vizard will need to be tiled and stitched together. Any assistance would be greatly helpful.

Thanks,
Vijay.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2009, 04:37 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Have a look at the documentation for the vizcave module. The cave.addWall command accepts a mask parameter that controls which computer in the cluster will render that wall. So split up your physical wall into 4 quadrants and create a virtual wall for each quadrant.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2009, 03:00 PM
dtidrow dtidrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
CAVE with tiled walls?

Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo View Post
Have a look at the documentation for the vizcave module. The cave.addWall command accepts a mask parameter that controls which computer in the cluster will render that wall. So split up your physical wall into 4 quadrants and create a virtual wall for each quadrant.
Can you create a CAVE with multiple projectors per wall? For example, we're looking into creating a CAVE with three walls and a floor, each surface consisting of four projectors driven by at least two computers (ideally one-to-one). How would you set this up in Vizard? Could you also overlap the projectors so that they can edge-blend?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2009, 12:24 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Yes, this should be possible with the vizcave module. A vizcave.Wall object does not necessarily have to represent an actual physical wall. It simply represents the physical rectangular surface that the computer is responsible for rendering to.

The vizcave module does not perform edge-blending. This is usually left to the hardware to accomplish. However, you can specify overlapping dimensions for the wall objects.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:32 AM
dtidrow dtidrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo View Post
Yes, this should be possible with the vizcave module. A vizcave.Wall object does not necessarily have to represent an actual physical wall. It simply represents the physical rectangular surface that the computer is responsible for rendering to.

The vizcave module does not perform edge-blending. This is usually left to the hardware to accomplish. However, you can specify overlapping dimensions for the wall objects.
Okay, that's pretty much what I thought. So is there any upper limit to the number of PC's you can have in a cluster? Is there a degredadion in performance as you add more PC's to the cluster? Would it be beneficial to have a master computer only control the slaves, and have the slaves do all the rendering?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:41 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Currently, you can have a maximum of 32 computers in a cluster.

Having more computers means more network traffic, so there might be a small performance hit in that regard.

Having the clients perform all the rendering is perfectly fine. Simply add the following code to your script to prevent the master from rendering:
Code:
viz.cluster.pushMask(viz.MASTER)
viz.MainWindow.visible(0)
viz.cluster.popMask()
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting on a 3 channel cluster ajmurray Vizard 3 10-10-2007 09:57 AM
Cluster Help videcuk Vizard 12 09-21-2007 02:14 PM
Material Tiling Vinicius Lima Vizard 1 08-08-2007 11:17 AM
Cluster problems for RC1 hotspur1 Vizard 1 04-04-2007 12:31 PM
quad_buffer cluster John P Vizard 4 06-07-2006 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC