WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2016, 12:44 AM
istarion istarion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
vizconnect vs(?) vizcave

hey all

I have access to a 3-wall cave system and am now trying to figure out how to efficiently program for that thing.

What are the jobs of the vizconnect and vizcave modules in this setup? Do I need only one or both?

The one thing I could discern is that vizconenct sets up / connects the head and wand trackers, but not what it does with them and how to access them. for example to disable wand inputs during certain times in a vr run.

thanks and cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2016, 05:27 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
The vizconnect cave and powerwall options generate the vizcave code for you. What are the three walls and is a separate machine used to render each wall?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2016, 05:44 AM
istarion istarion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
The walls are left, center, and right, all driven by a single machine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2016, 08:10 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Then you can use the corner cave manual configuration option and turn both right and left walls to on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2016, 08:54 AM
istarion istarion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Yes, I have a working config that I can load with vizconnect.go(config).
My question is more how to find out what handles the vizconnect offers and how to use them. For example running the basicLinking script from vizard -> getting started -> Linking with a vizconnect.go(config) does not work as there is no longer a viz.MainView that is usable/accessible (in bind view to avatar, avatar to pointer is still ok). What takes its place?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2016, 12:08 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
In a vizconnect application, view updates are based on the transforms of parent nodes (e.g. trackers, transports) in the scenegraph. Commands that set the view or link the view to another object get overwritten. You can use a vizconnect viewpoint object to help set the view. This forces the view to a location while taking into account the parent hierarchy. Moving the user to a general location within the environment can be accomplished by setting the position of a parent transport’s node3D object. In this case, the view position is equal to the transport position plus offsets from other parent nodes:

Code:
transportNode = vizconnect.getTransport('main_transport').getNode3d()
transportNode.setPosition([0,0,20])
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2016, 12:54 AM
istarion istarion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
That's what I was looking for, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regarding changing &using multiple tools at same time through vizconnect rajnishv Vizard 7 09-08-2016 04:48 AM
Zspace display in Vizconnect JB_HP_Viz Vizard 5 06-05-2015 03:28 PM
Switching between input devices setup in vizconnect and not using vizconnect JB_HP_Viz Vizard 1 01-20-2015 05:19 AM
Vizconnect Save As Dialog Jeff Vizard 0 05-01-2014 09:45 AM
Head tracking, Flock of Birds and vizcave; how do I connect them? Arandia Vizard 2 08-26-2009 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC