WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2012, 03:59 AM
victorqx victorqx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
Vizard cluster with director calls

Hello,

Perhaps this question has already been answered, but I couldn't find it. If it has been answered before, could someone please point me in the right direction to find the answer?

As background, I'm running a powerwall with 6 screens and thus 6 rendering machines.

I want to be able to switch scenes in Vizard while a script is running. I'm creating thumbnails of different scenes and via a touchscreen like interface I want to allow a user to switch between these scenes. Since some of these scenes are quite big, it can take the cluster some 10-20 seconds to load them. In this time period I would like to display a 'loading...' message so the user knows that something is happening.

I created a fancy, animated loading message with spheres that change opacity. I tried to get Vizard to load the new scene in a background thread using the director, on my desktop this works fine. When switching to the cluster, the animation doesn't run.

Is it possible to run a background director call on a cluster?

Thanks in advance for any tips!

Regards,

Victor

PS Code for loading a scene:

Code:
scene = None

def loadSomeScene():
	global scene
	
	scene = viz.addSphere()

def loadScene2(loadFunc):
	if not scene == None:
		scene.remove()
		
	LoadingAnimation.showLoadingSpheres()	
	yield viztask.waitDirector(loadFunc)
	LoadingAnimation.removeLoadingSpheres()

def loadScene(loadFunc):
	viztask.schedule(loadScene2(loadFunc))

vizact.onkeychar('1', loadScene, loadSomeScene)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 05:42 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
No, currently you cannot run background director calls within a cluster. The clients will just execute the calls in their main thread. We are working on adding a built-in option to load models asynchronously to a future version of Vizard, which would also work with cluster clients.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2012, 01:24 AM
victorqx victorqx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
Hello farshizzo,

Thanks for your reply. It is unfortunate that director calls won't work in a cluster. I'm looking forward to a new version in which to load models asynchronously. For now, I'll make do with the UI freezing for a bit while models are loading :-)

Regards,

Victor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realistic Light and Shadows Using Vizard and 3DS Max jde Vizard 4 07-13-2012 11:58 AM
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Announcements 0 02-01-2011 11:46 AM
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Vizard 0 02-01-2011 11:46 AM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 12:13 PM
Fall 2007 release of Vizard R3 3 D Announcements 0 10-15-2007 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC