WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2012, 07:23 PM
dthomas dthomas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Avatar Texture Problem

Hi,
I'm using 3DSMax2012 to export 3 avatars from an avatar library into Cal3D. I had little trouble animating them and exporting the first (a single mesh model), but the other 2 don't show textures.

I tried applying the texture in vizard, but I don't know how to get the hair mesh texture to work (the body texture just applies a duplicate of itself to the hair also).

I couldn't find how to deal with meshes with several textures, or how to export "Multi/Sub-Object" materials. How do I export these into Cal3d format?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2012, 09:59 AM
dthomas dthomas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
It might have been that the mesh had the same name as the skeleton (aside from the .cmf extension). After adding [0] and [1] to the materials I enabled fliptexture in the .cfg and everything seemed to export ok.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 11:20 AM
Maia Maia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Hi,

May I ask you which avatar library are you using ?
Cheers,
Maia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2012, 09:52 PM
goro goro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 33
Hi,

In any case if this thread is open then please let me know that is there any method available to get nodes from CAL3D avatar?

I want to apply shaders & texture to individual nodes of CAL3D Avatar. To get those nodes I wrote the following code.

Code:
import viz
import vizact

viz.setMultiSample(4)
viz.fov(60)
viz.go()

female = viz.addAvatar('vcc_female.cfg')
female.setPosition([0,0,3])
female.setEuler([180,0,0])
female.state(12)

print 'Model contains the following scene graph nodes:'
for name in female.getNodeNames():
    print ' ',name
and I am getting this output
Model contains the following scene graph nodes:
casual01_f_highpoly.CMFX
casual01_f_highpoly01.CMFX


I am not able to get the subnodes which I use to get in OSGB models.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 10:37 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
You can specify the mesh name as the optional node parameter when applying the texture/shader. For example:
Code:
female.texture(tex,node='casual01_f_highpoly.CMFX')
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3dsmax, avatar, cal3d, exporting

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avatar texture swaping sleiN13 Vizard 5 06-24-2011 12:48 AM
Avatar speaking problem Uttama_vizard Vizard 4 03-23-2009 11:29 AM
Skydome texture problem theuberk Vizard 2 01-18-2008 05:56 AM
Problem with letting an avatar face towards another avatar ghazanfar Vizard 2 03-21-2007 02:30 AM
avatar head texture issues rconrey Vizard 3 11-17-2004 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC