WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:05 AM
lionfish lionfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Textures Scrambled

I've another graphics problem (different computer this time - indeed the laptop I was having trouble with in the other thread doesn't have this problem).

On a couple of computers I've run my vizard environment on, I find the textures become horribly scrambled: there's gaps at the edges of tiles, and textures from one object are being drawn on another - such that one fades into the other texture as you approach (see attached images).

It often appears that the font becomes scrambled too.

I'm wondering if it's because I'm only using OpenGL 1.4? Is there a minimum OpenGL version that Vizard will be happy with?

The objects are exports from 3DSM (in .WRL format, using default export settings). The textures are in png and jpg formats - their dimensions aren't necessarily powers of 2.

The environment looks fine on a brand new laptop we recently bought. Other graphics applications have looked fine on this computer (e.g. Google Earth).

Thanks!

Mike.

System Details:
Graphics adapter: Intel(R) 945/G Express.
Driver: I've the latest version of the Intel graphics driver installed (6.14.10.4543)
OS: XP Professional (32 bit)
OpenGL: version 1.4
(features beyond 1.4 appear mostly unsupported).

OpenGL Extensions Viewer highlighted a few issues:
-No texture edge clamp support
(This feature adds clamping control to edge texel filtering. Some programs may not render textures correctly (black line on borders.) )
-No OpenGL Shading Language support
(This may break compatibility for applications using per pixel shading.)
-No Frame buffer object support
(This may break compatibility for applications using render to texture functions.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic5.png
Views:	681
Size:	293.9 KB
ID:	359   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic2.png
Views:	662
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	360  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:04 AM
lionfish lionfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Tried on other computer...

Okay, I tried it out on the other computer.
The problem in textures occurs only when a new environment is loaded and the old objects are deleted from the scene (I'll post some code later!).

Thanks!!

Mike.


System info:
ATI Radeon HD 3470 - Dell Optiplex
OpenGL: Version: 2.1
OS: Windows XP
Driver: 6.14.10.6833
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:41 AM
lionfish lionfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Post Code

I add all the objects I create to a list (objectList):

#Create object
obj = viz.add(storefiles[storen])
# Put it in the right place
obj.rotate(0,1,0,rotation*90)

obj.scale(0.05,0.05,0.05) #scale to 1/20th of original size

obj.translate(x*7,0,y*7)

#Add it to the list
objectsList.append(obj)

when I want to "reset" the world, I remove all the objects from the list, with the belief that this should destroy them (is this true - I don't quite understand why, but I cop - is this because garbage collection deals with it?), based on thread:
http://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=2196

#loop through all the items, deleting them
for row in range(len(objectsList)):

objectsList[row].remove()

(thought to self: would deleting them in this order end up leaving some? as their index changes each time...)

Thanks for any help!
Mike.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 01:42 AM
lionfish lionfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
I "solved" this by not deleting the objects, but just moving to a different part of the environment - so they're out of view. Not optimal! But it works well enough for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.osg/.ive import - missing geometry & some textures jde Vizard 3 09-04-2009 03:18 PM
Multiple Textures for Diffuse and Specularity Shader Issue shivanangel Vizard 1 05-11-2009 10:44 AM
Max -> Vizard, Two Sided Textures shivanangel Vizard 5 12-04-2008 03:15 AM
number of textures to load lucalatini Vizard 2 05-12-2005 05:50 PM
Overlaying Textures with Alpha Masks vjosh Vizard 7 04-06-2005 07:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC