WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2012, 01:52 PM
JvdBosch JvdBosch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivanangel View Post
I've noticed exporting issues with some image files when exporting from the native format to whatever techniques are used in 3D Studio Max to convert them to other file formats. Did you try this with no compression and see if you get the same result?
Just because it works in 3DS Max does not mean it will work outside of the application. Especially when you consider mipmapping and the potential for textures to be resampled during the export and import process.
Like I said, the exact same model with the same textures exported fine in 3DSMax 2011. Something has changed on either 3DSMax 2013, the exporter or both. I'll try to reproduce the issue with a simple max file, so the experts at WV can take a look.

It looks like the exporter is doing something weird at the edges of the texture images. I had something similar with tree textures, face mapped to a square polygon. At the edges of the polygon the transparency of the texture disappeared, so it looked like the trees were inside a box... So exactly the other way around than the wall, where a transparency appears at the edges of the texture.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2012, 02:06 AM
JvdBosch JvdBosch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Here's an example to download.

It is just one tree, made with two crossed polygons and a simple material. When exporting a line appears at the edges of the texture. I believe this is the same problem as with the wall. Some weird alpha thing happens at the edges of the texture. In my opinion it has nothing to do with the polygons, but everything wih the textures.



Can someone take a look at this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 04:13 PM
Veleno Veleno is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
With the brick wall texture, what format are you using? The transparency seems texture-based, so it is most likely something wrong with the texture itself. Bring the image in photoshop and check for an alpha channel. if there is one, delete it and export again.

If this is in a baked scene, edit the image output settings to disable the automatic creation of alpha channels in baked textures.

The problem wiith the tree can be solved by using multi-sampled alpha. This kind of artifact usually happens when one transparent object intersects with another.

Code:
 
import viz

viz.setMultiSample(4) 
#higher values increase quality but decrease framerate. 
#usually set between 2 and 16

viz.go()

tranModel = viz.add('model.IVE') #add a model, call it tranModel

GL_SAMPLE_ALPHA_TO_COVERAGE_ARB = 0x809E
transModel.disable(viz.BLEND)
transModel.enable(GL_SAMPLE_ALPHA_TO_COVERAGE_ARB)

viz.clearcolor(viz.GRAY)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:14 PM
Veleno Veleno is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
The above code has a typo - lines 12 and 13 say "transModel" instead of "tranModel", so be sure to fix that if you try it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to render a texture of the transparent object and then blur it whj Vizard 1 09-25-2012 03:15 PM
Avatar texture swaping sleiN13 Vizard 5 06-24-2011 12:48 AM
How to apply shader and render texture to an object whj Vizard 0 04-23-2010 12:23 PM
Translating a texture and its Alpha shivanangel Vizard 5 12-02-2008 04:52 PM
Randomly and Continuously Change Avatar's Face Texture Karla Vizard 4 08-22-2008 12:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC