WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:36 AM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
Lights question

I'm running into a problem with the light limit. I have 3 rooms that a person can see into, so each needs its own lights. I am limited to 2 lights per room (plus a global) right now.

I saw the light group functionality, but it isn't quite was I need. I need something that has OpenGl only use the light when rendering one room, and not the other in one rendering pass. Is there anything in Vizard that will allow me to say "use only lights X, Y, and Z when rendering the polygons from room 1, and use only lights A, B, and C when rendering the polygons from room 2?"

While, I'm talking about lights. I have one other question. Since there are multiple rooms (and they change frequently), I'd like to use a node from the model as the position rather than having to manually set the position for every new model or layout. The problem is that there will be a variable number. I can search with getChild() for light1, light2, ..., light X until I get a invalid node, but as soon as I get that invalid node it prints an error message. It doesn't break anything if I check if it is valid right afterward, but those red lines are a nuisance when debugging. It makes it harder to track down other warnings. Is there any hasChild() function I have not been able to locate, or a silent mode?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2013, 11:11 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,455
You can disable lights on a node, take a look at the following thread. Is this what you're looking for?

http://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=4427

I'm not sure I understand your second question. You can use <node3d>.getNodeNames to retrieve a list of node names underneath the node.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2013, 12:55 PM
TopazFrost TopazFrost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
That is exactly what I needed for both questions. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting Lights in OSG File shivanangel Vizard 3 12-07-2012 09:49 AM
question about NVIDIA 3D vision Weihua An Vizard 5 08-02-2010 06:49 AM
General question and question regarding arrays dan12345 Vizard 1 01-15-2008 10:15 AM
Tracking Multiple Lights nickyee Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 5 12-19-2005 03:51 PM
3DMAX 6 lights & Vizard 2.12 Karthi Plug-in development 2 12-22-2003 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC