WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2008, 03:23 PM
timbo timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
depth perception for a DTI 3D monitor

so I have switched from using a virtual environment written in c++ to vizard. Vizard has made everything easier and faster but I have one complaint that maybe someone knows hows to fix.

In vizard the depth perception of objects is not that great. I am using a DTI 3D monitor, all of the hardware is fine since I was running the c++ version earlier. Its taking the viz.go(viz.STEREO) and viz.ipd(0) and laying the two copies on top of eachother to create the 3D image. Is there anything else I can do to increase the depth perception? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2008, 03:25 PM
timbo timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Quote:
Is there anything else I can do to increase the depth perception?
I meant is there anything else I can do to make the depth perception better?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:41 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Have a look at the fusion distance feature. You can find a thread describing it here and the documentation explains how it works. You can use this feature to have objects pop out of the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2008, 10:32 AM
timbo timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
full screen help

So none of those attributes really changed anything for the better. Another thing I noticed is that people are using the fullscreen mode. I have not been using it since I am using two monitors and displaying on the secondary monitor (using translating the screen to the other monitor). Is there a way to get viz.FULLSCREEN to appear on the secondary monitor and not the primary
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2008, 12:03 PM
Veleno Veleno is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
Hi timbo,

To set the default fullscreen monitor for all scripts, create a text file called vizcore.cfg in the vizard bin directory, and place in it the following code:
viz.fullscreen.monitor = 1
Where "1" is the number of your monitor, as seen in Window's display preferences. Setting it to 0 keeps it at the default of going fullscreen across all monitors.

If you want it to be the default for all scripts in a directory, place vizcore.cfg in that folder instead. If you have a vizcore.cfg in both in the same directory as your script, and one in the vizard bin directory, the one with your script will take precedence.

If you want it to be for a single script, add that line of code inside the script before viz.go() as:
viz.setOption('viz.fullscreen.monitor',1)


For a full list of initialization commands, check the Vizard Documentation under Reference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2008, 12:23 PM
timbo timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
thanks that worked like a charm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Modes & Vizard (problems...) tmcw Vizard 1 10-03-2007 07:29 AM
3D stereo: problem with depth perception asimbh Vizard 5 04-27-2007 05:53 AM
Dual monitor and Dual camera vanier Vizard 4 03-30-2006 05:26 AM
problems with see real 3d monitor bailenson Vizard 2 03-23-2006 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC