WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2016, 07:42 AM
sankethrit2013 sankethrit2013 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Webcam resolution issues

Hello Everyone,

I was working on getting webcam feed into vizard.

I am using a Genius F100 wide-angle webcam. It has a max resolution of 1080p. But vizard only seems to read in 640x480. All other software can capture 1080p or 720p from the same camera.

I have used two approaches to it.

video = viz.add('VideoCamera.dle')
cam1 = video.addWebcam(size = (1280,720))
pl.texture(cam1)
# its a plane that I have created and adding the camera video as texture

My second approach is:

import VideoVision
ar = viz.add('artoolkit.dle')
cam1 = ar.addWebCamera(size = [1280,720])


Am I doing something wrong or is it that Vizard does not have the drivers to read in more than 640x480 resolution?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2016, 12:33 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Vizard uses Windows DirectShow for connecting to camera devices using the RGB24 format. It's possible the DirectShow drivers for the camera only supports the 640x480 resolution in RGB24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2016, 06:11 AM
performlabrit performlabrit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 77
Hi Jeff,

It's clear that it's a driver issue. Unfortunately, Vizard is the only program we can find that seems to have this driver issue.

Can you offer any additional guidance? Workarounds? Has your team has success integrating other webcam modules with the Vizard pipeline?

The only solution I can come up with, to write a threaded module to save images to the harddrive to be used as textures. This would take several days work, if not a week or two.

Thanks,
- gD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:43 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
I'll check with our developers and create a support ticket to follow up on this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2016, 06:03 AM
Erikvdb Erikvdb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
As a workaround, you could try running the feed through a virtual webcam. I have Manycam and Xsplit installed on my PC and Vizard recognizes them both as webcam devices, and they in turn may be a bit more flexible recognizing the full resolution of your source webcam.
You may need to look around a bit to find a good free virtual cam software without watermark though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2016, 02:13 PM
JasmineJasmine JasmineJasmine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
My problem is that for some very odd reason my camera is now extremly zoomed in, as far as i know i've not changed any settings... I have however now tried multiple things to fix it, and the closest i get is when i press ctrl+f, but then my picture is extremly pixly (as if i had the lowest possible resolution, my hand basicly becomes super-mario looking ^^. (I have resolution set at 1280 x 720) (((((((((
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture the screen in high resolution Andy Vizard 0 09-30-2015 01:55 AM
Issues related to osg export and lightmapping Samuli Vizard 1 09-03-2015 05:40 AM
artoolkit no webcam showing vrmdl Vizard 3 03-10-2014 11:01 AM
How can I use a webcam to record a video in Vizard Zero Vizard 4 06-10-2010 03:53 AM
problems with webcam plug-in v-clizzin Plug-in development 2 01-25-2008 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC