WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2010, 09:00 AM
Sven Sven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
child-objects in VRML-file all have the same coordinates

Hi,

I generated a simple maze using Blender, consisting of the actual maze and two additional smaller objects, which are attached to the maze's wall.
In Vizard, I can import this maze as a wrl-file without any problems, also extracting the two additional objects via getChild worked. I can manipulate the child-objects scaling, the rotation, color, all ok. However, when I query the objects' coordinates via getPosition, both the parent (maze) and the children (additional objects) have the same coordinates, namely (0,0,0). Querying the position with with ABS_GLOBAL also didn't help.

Could someone please help me out here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2010, 11:01 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Make sure you get a handle to the lowest level transform before you call getPosition with the viz.ABS_GLOBAL flag. This article shows how to do this using an OSG model. The idea is the same with your VRML model, however it won't be using the GEODE naming convention.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2010, 02:21 AM
Sven Sven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Hi,

thanks for your answer! However, I think I did the steps shown in the article (those that also should apply for wrl files), and still I only get (0,0,0) for parent and children.
Concerning getting the lowest level transform: according to the properties of the wrl file as shown in Vizard, my handle indeed aims at the lowest level featuring the gear symbol. Further down, only cube- and grid symbols are shown.

This is how I tried to do it:

Code:
track=viz.add('inftytex.wrl')
cue1=track.getChild('OB_cue_card_1_0_0')
cue2=track.getChild('OB_cue_card_2_0_0')
cuePos1=cue1.getPosition(viz.ABS_GLOBAL)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2010, 11:51 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,471
Are you saying that the purple cube object has no name associated with it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:07 AM
Sven Sven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Yes, that is correct. I'll attach the complete properties window:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	1269
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	375  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
detect collision with child objects Jerry Vizard 1 12-09-2009 01:40 PM
Locating the Coordinates of Vertices for on the fly objects shivanangel Vizard 4 10-30-2006 08:28 PM
Pivot points for child objects in Vizard with 3ds Max Gladsomebeast Vizard 0 09-19-2006 11:21 AM
Could not find plugin to load objects... halley Vizard 1 05-30-2006 11:01 AM
3D sound & child objects FlyingWren Vizard 1 09-19-2003 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC