WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2007, 07:06 AM
JMOwens JMOwens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 34
3 Easy Questions

Hi folks,
Well, I hope they're easy questions! I'm trying to get Vizard set up with our new Kaiser SR80A, and there are a few small bugs. If you please:

1) viz.ipd doesn't seem to do anything. I want the user to be able to input each subject's ipd, and have vizard automatically use that value. Here's what I have:

eyeohd = viz.input('What is the participants IOD, in mm?')
viz.ipd(eyeohd/100)

What am I doing wrong? In the help file Vizard mentions viz.setipd, but that doesn't seem to be supported.

2) What the difference between viz.HMD and viz.FULLSCREEN? I had been using viz.go(viz.STEREO|viz.FULLSCREEN), but should I be using viz.HMD? What does it do?

3) Is there an easy way to change the position of a dialog box on the screen? Since I'm simultaneously displaying onto dual monitors and into the HMD, my initial input boxes pop up across the two displays, so they're unreadable. I have several user inputs, set up as in question 1 above.

Thanks so much for your help, Vizards!
Justin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:58 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
1) I believe you might be entering the ipd as an integer. In python, integer division will yield another integer. So the computed ipd is most likely 0. You need to divide the ipd by a floating value. Also, Vizards units are in meters, so you need to divide the input mm ipd by 1000. The following code should fix your problem:
Code:
eyeohd = viz.input('What is the participants IOD, in mm?')
viz.ipd(eyeohd/1000.0)
2)You should use viz.HMD if the user is wearing an HMD. viz.HMD will go into fullscreen mode and use symmetric view frustums for each eye.

3)Sorry, there is currently no way to change the position of the dialog popups.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:00 PM
JMOwens JMOwens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 34
Great, thanks farshizzo! I forgot about the integer thing...

And I would respectfully suggest adding a way to re-place the dialog boxes in future revisions - I would imagine that dual monitors/HMD is a common setup among your users, and it's impossible to read dialogs this way. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:10 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Thanks for the suggestion, we will try to include this option in a future release.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC