WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2010, 02:45 AM
Philippe Philippe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Debugger

Hi,

I am a new Worlviz user and would like to know whether there is any kind of debugger available in the 3.0 environment (enabling to set breakpoints, to see threads status, etc.) ? I there a possibility to use the python debugger (pdb) ?
__________________
Thanks,

Philippe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 11:26 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
This feature is not built-in to Vizard 3.0. However, you can use the Python pdb module to debug Vizard scripts. I have also used the more advanced winpdb debugger with Vizard, and that works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2010, 10:15 AM
Philippe Philippe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks a lot!
Just a short additional question: if I install winpd, could it change something in my environment - I mean have some undesirable side effect? We are at a critical phase of our project, and I would be sure that just not using the winpdb debugger makes the environment behave as it was before, i.e. that it is always possible to neutralize it.
__________________
Thanks,

Philippe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:49 AM
renama renama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
unhandled exception was caught in winpdb

If I tried a simple python program edited in viard environment without import any vizrard module, it works fine in winpdb. But after I include import viz, it pops up "Unhandled exception was caught in winpdb, would you like to analyze it?". Is there anybody who can tell me how to handle this problem in winpdb. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2010, 02:34 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
How are you launching the Vizard script?

You can't run the Vizard script from Winpdb. You need to add the following code to your script:
Code:
import rpdb2
rpdb2.start_embedded_debugger('password')
Then run the script from Vizard and then attach to the Vizard session from within Winpdb.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC